Teaches of Peaches

17 Apr 2024 20:30
Book tickets

Teaches of Peaches

Judy Landkammer, Philipp Fussenegger

DE
2024
Documentary
102’
OmU
desired! – film lust & queer

In 2022, Peaches went on tour to celebrate the anniversary of her album ›Teaches of Peaches‹. This film accompanies her on tour, both on and off stage, but it’s much more than simply a concert film. For the film, Merrill Nisker, whose artistic career led to her adopting the stage name Peaches, gave the film-maker access to a large archive of video recordings, as well as granting interviews and access to rehearsals and gigs. This enables Teaches of Peaches to travel back and forth in time, connecting the past with the present. An impressive montage makes this possible, repeatedly creating references, contextualising what was with what is, lending it all a rhythm. It is a portrait of a female musician as an icon of queer-feminist communities. But it is also a film about getting older and about change. It is an extensive appreciation of her musical work and the way she shaped and changed pop culture. Documenting the artist’s impressive career is complemented by the space the film gives to her everyday life and its politics. Starting bands, a shared apartment in Berlin, early TV appearances for Peaches are some aspects taken up by the film, as are the music lessons for children which Merrill Nisker gave to earn money before she chose to be a career musician. It is not only the lyrics and stage shows of her band which are treated as political, but their everyday life and the way they choose to tour, work, live and be together. The question here is not finding the best or most effective performance, but to look at the people who gather together and create a space together.

In cooperation with SoundTrack Cologne


Awards for ›Teaches of Peaches‹
Teddy Award: Best Queer Documentary / Essay Film, Berlinale 2024

Director

Judy Landkammer, Philipp Fussenegger

Script

Cordula Kablitz-Post, Schyda Vasseghi

Cinematography

Dino Osmanović

Editing

Judy Landkammer

Sound Design

Torben Seemann, Reemt Allerding, Paul Eisenach, Jonas Hofer

Music

Peaches

With

Peaches, Black Cracker, Leslie Feist, Chilly Gonzales, Shirley Manson, Charlie Le Mindu

Production

Cordula Kablitz-Post – avanti media fiction

Contact

farbfilm verleih

Porträt von Judy Landkammer

Judy Landkammer

Judy Landkammer studied multimedia art in Salzburg. She is a film and video editor. She already worked with Philipp Fussenegger on their film Henry and has also edited the film The Misandrists by Bruce La Bruce. Teaches of Peaches is her directorial debut.

Porträt von Philipp Fussenegger

Philipp Fussenegger

Philipp Fussenegger is an Austrian director, screenwriter and photographer. He studied in several places including the Cologne Academy of Media Arts (KHM), where he made Henry, his graduation film. Currently he is working on a film about the KitKatClub Berlin.


Films by Philipp Fussenegger
I Am the Tigress 2021 | Bester Mann 2018 | Henry 2015 | Zu schön um wahr zu sein (Too Good to Be True) 2010

17 Apr 2024 20:30
Book tickets

Teaches of Peaches

17 Apr 2024 20:30
Ticket buchen

Teaches of Peaches

Judy Landkammer, Philipp Fussenegger

DE
2024
Dokumentarfilm
102’
OmU
begehrt! – filmlust queer

2022 tourte Peaches mit der Jubiläumstour zum Album ›Teaches of Peaches‹. Der Film begleitet die Tour vor und hinter der Bühne. Dabei ist viel mehr als ein Konzertfilm entstanden. Neben Interviews, Proben und Bühnengigs hat Merrill Nisker, die in ihrer künstlerischen Karriere zu Peaches geworden ist, ein großes Archiv aus Videoaufzeichnungen für den Film zur Verfügung gestellt. So springt Teaches of Peaches zwischen den Zeiten und verbindet die Vergangenheit mit der Gegenwart. Dies funktioniert über eine beeindruckende Montage, die immer wieder Bezüge herstellt und das, was war, mit dem, was ist, kontextualisiert, aber auch rhythmisiert. Es ist ein Portrait der Musikerin als Ikone queer-feministischer Communities. Es ist auch ein Film über das Älterwerden und über Veränderungen. Ihre musikalische Arbeit, die Art, wie sie Popkultur geprägt und verändert hat, wird umfassend gewürdigt. Neben der beeindruckenden Karriere der Künstlerin wird auch dem Alltag und seinen Politiken ein großer Raum gegeben. Bandgründungen, eine WG in Berlin, frühe Fernsehauftritte von Peaches, aber auch Musikunterricht für Kinder, mit dem Merrill Nisker vor der Entscheidung für die Musikerinnenkarriere Geld verdient hat, sind nur einige Aspekte, die der Film aufgreift. Die Band, die zusammen unterwegs ist, wird nicht nur über Texte und Bühnenprogramm als politisch beschrieben, die Politik liegt auch im Alltag, in der Art, miteinander zu arbeiten und zu leben, miteinander zu sein. So stellt sich nicht die Frage nach bester oder effektivster Leistung, sondern nach den Menschen, die hier versammelt werden und gemeinsam einen Raum schaffen.

In Kooperation mit SoundTrack Cologne


Preise für ›Teaches of Peaches‹
Teddy Award: Best Queer Documentary / Essay Film, Berlinale 2024

Regie

Judy Landkammer, Philipp Fussenegger

Buch

Cordula Kablitz-Post, Schyda Vasseghi

Bildgestaltung

Dino Osmanović

Montage

Judy Landkammer

Sounddesign

Torben Seemann, Reemt Allerding, Paul Eisenach, Jonas Hofer

Musik

Peaches

Mit

Peaches, Black Cracker, Leslie Feist, Chilly Gonzales, Shirley Manson, Charlie Le Mindu

Produktion

Cordula Kablitz-Post – avanti media fiction

Kontakt

farbfilm verleih

Porträt von Judy Landkammer

Judy Landkammer

Judy Landkammer hat Multimedia Art in Salzburg studiert. Sie arbeitet als Film- und Videoeditorin. Mit Philipp Fussenegger hat sie bereits für den Film Henry zusammengearbeitet und unter anderem auch für den Film The Misandrists von Bruce La Bruce die Montage übernommen. Teaches of Peaches ist ihr Regie-Debüt.

Porträt von Philipp Fussenegger

Philipp Fussenegger

Philipp Fussenegger ist österreichischer Regisseur, Drehbuchautor und Fotograf. Er hat unter anderem an der Kunsthochschule für Medien / KHM Köln studiert und dort seinen Diplomfilm Henry gedreht. Aktuell arbeitet er an einem Film über den KitKatClub Berlin.


Filme von Philipp Fussenegger
I Am the Tigress 2021 | Bester Mann 2018 | Henry 2015 | Zu schön um wahr zu sein (Too Good to Be True) 2010

17 Apr 2024 20:30
Ticket buchen