Timetable

Gendernauts

Monika Treut

DE
1999
Documentary
86’
OmU
desired! – film lust & queer

PLEASE NOTE: Gendernauts runs only on June 19 at 6 p.m. at Schauburg Dortmund. You can’t buy tickets online for this particular screening. Reservations can be made by Email to lindner@frauenfilmfestival.eu until 10 a.m. on the day of the screening. You receive a reservation confirmation by sending the contact form or the QR code. Reserved tickets must be picked up 30 minutes before the start of the screening. You can also buy ticket at the box office. Director Monika Teut is attending the screening.

»Gendernauts […] explores the phenomena of transgenderism at the end of the second millennium in California. The film is about gender benders and sexual cyborgs, people who alter their bodies and minds with new technologies and chemistry and thus question male and female identities. Asked if they are a man or a woman, the gendernauts answer ›yes‹. Gendernauts introduces us to a group of fascinating artists in California who live between the poles of conventional gender identity. Like cosmonauts in space and cybernauts in the internet, the gendernauts travel through the diverse worlds of sexuality.« Salzgeber
What policies and ideas do they advocate here? What was queer life like in the US in the late 90s? How have their ideas impacted queer theory and film history? Gendernauts allows us to gain an insight into all these aspects.

Awards for ›Gendernauts‹
Special TEDDY Award – Berlinale 1999 | Audience Award – Torino Film Festival 1999 | Audience Award MixBrasil, São Paulo 1999

In collaboration with Museum Ostwall as part of the programme Art on the MOve.

 

Director / Script / Production

Monika Treut

Cinematography

Elfi Mikesch

Editing

Eric Schefter

Sound

Andreas Pietsch

Music

Georg Kajanus, Veronica Klaus, Pearl Harbor

With

Annie Sprinkle, Beth Stephens, Stafford, Sandy Stone, Susan Stryker, Max Wolf Valerio, Texas Tomboy, Jordy Jones, Hida Viloria

Co-production

WDR, arte

Contact

Salzgeber

Portrait of jury member Monika Treut

Monika Treut

Monika Treut has been working with the medium of film for over 30 years. Her work does not concentrate one on particular genre: she produces documentary and experimental films but also fiction. She founded her own production company Hyena Films in partnership with Elfi Mikesch in 1984. In the same year, she completed her PhD thesis on images of women in de Sade and Sacher-Masoch at Philipps-Universität Marburg. The book was published by Stroemfeld/roter Stern, which is known for its feminist film articles. Monika Treut has received numerous awards for her work, including the Special TEDDY Award for her lifework from the Berlinale in 2017 and in the same year an Honorary Award from the TLVFest (Tel Aviv International LGBT Festival).


Films by Monika Treut

Zona Norte 2016 | Von Mädchen und Pferden 2014 | Das Rohe und das Gekochte 2012 | Ghosted 2009 | Den Tigerfrauen wachsen Flügel 2005 | Kriegerin des Lichts 2002 | Gendernauts 1999 | My Father Is Coming 1991 | Die Jungfrauenmaschine 1988 | Verführung: Die grausame Frau 1985

Spielplan

Gendernauts

Monika Treut

DE
1999
Dokumentarfilm
86’
OmU
begehrt! – filmlust queer

BITTE BEACHTEN SIE: Gendernauts läuft einmalig am 18. Juni um 18 Uhr in der Schauburg Dortmund. Tickets für die Kinovorstellug können Sie nicht online buchen. Sie können Tickets per Email an lindner@frauenfilmfestival.eu reservieren. Reservierungen sind bis 10 Uhr des Vorstellungstages möglich. Eine Reservierungsbestätigung erfolgt mit Zusendung des Kontaktformulars bzw. des QR-Codes. Reservierte Tickets müssen an der Abendkasse 30 Min vor Vorstellungsbeginn abgeholt werden. Sie können auch Tickets an der Abendkasse erwerben. Regisseurin Monika Treut ist anwesend.

»Gendernauts […] erforscht das Phänomen von Transgender. Ort: San Francisco. Zeit: am Ende des zweiten Jahrtausends. Der Film zeigt Gender-Mixer und sexuelle Cyborgs, die ihre Körper mit Hilfe neuer Technologien und Biochemie verändern und damit die Identität von männlich und weiblich in Frage stellen. Auf die Frage: Sind Sie ein Mann oder eine Frau? antworten die Gendernauten mit Ja. Gendernauts stellt uns eine Gruppe faszinierender Künstler*innen in Kalfornien vor, die zwischen den Polen herkömmlicher Geschlechteridentität leben. Wie die Kosmonauten durch das Weltall und die Cybernauten durch die Netzkultur, so reisen die Gendernauten durch die vielfältigen Welten der Sexualität.« Salzgeber
Welche Politiken und Ideen machen die Protagonist*innen hier stark? Wie ist das queere Leben am Ende der 1990er Jahre in den USA? Wie haben ihre Gedanken queere Theorie und queere Filmgeschichte beeinflusst? In all diese Aspekte gewährt uns Gendernauts einen Einblick.

Preise für ›Gendernauts‹
Special TEDDY Award – Berlinale 1999 | Audience Award – Torino Film Festival 1999 | Audience Award MixBrasil, São Paulo 1999

In Kooperation mit Museum Ostwall im Rahmen des Programms Art on the MOve.

Regie / Buch / Produktion

Monika Treut

Bildgestaltung

Elfi Mikesch

Montage

Eric Schefter

Ton

Andreas Pietsch

Musik

Georg Kajanus, Veronica Klaus, Pearl Harbor

Mit

Annie Sprinkle, Beth Stephens, Stafford, Sandy Stone, Susan Stryker, Max Wolf Valerio, Texas Tomboy, Jordy Jones, Hida Viloria

Coproduktion

WDR, arte

Kontakt

Salzgeber

Porträt des Jurymitglieds Monika Treut

Monika Treut

Seit mehr als 30 Jahren arbeitet Monika Treut im Medium Film. Ihre Arbeiten legen sich nicht fest: Sie realisiert sowohl dokumentarische und experimentelle Filme als auch Spielfilme. Ihre eigene Produktionsfirma Hyena Films gründete sie zusammen mit Elfi Mikesch im Jahr 1984. Im selben Jahr schloss sie ihre Promotion an der Philipps Universität Marburg mit der Dissertation Die grausame Frau. Zum Frauenbild bei de Sade und Sacher-Masoch ab. Das Buch erschien im für film-feministische Beiträge bekannten Verlag Stroemfeld/roter Stern. Monika Treut wurde für ihre Arbeiten vielfach ausgezeichnet. Sie erhielt unter anderem 2017 den Special TEDDY Award für ihr Lebenswerk im Rahmen der Berlinale und im selben Jahr einen Ehrenpreis beim TLVFest (Tel Aviv International LGBT Festival).


Filme von Monika Treut
Zona Norte 2016 | Von Mädchen und Pferden 2014 | Das Rohe und das Gekochte 2012 | Ghosted 2009 | Den Tigerfrauen wachsen Flügel 2005 | Kriegerin des Lichts 2002 | Gendernauts 1999 | My Father Is Coming 1991 | Die Jungfrauenmaschine 1988 | Verführung: Die grausame Frau 1985