Hello Dankness

17 Apr 2024 20:00
Book tickets

Hello Dankness

Soda Jerk

AU
2022
Experimental
70’
OFe
Audience Award

In a stunning collage of hundreds of borrowed film clips, Soda Jerk dissect American society and politics between 2016 and 2021. Taking the form of a suburban musical, the years of Donald Trump’s presidency become a psychotropic horror spectacle. Conspiracy theories take over, hotdogs discuss the clash of civilisations, waste bins preach QAnon, zombies rally for revolution and real-life events are refashioned as Broadway musicals. The cast of characters include Tom Hanks, Annette Bening, Bruce Dern, Ice Cube, Wayne and Garth, Maya and Ana, Rue and Jules, Seth Rogen and Reyn Doi. American politicians play themselves, Jesse Eisenberg is in the role of Mark Zuckerberg and Vladimir Putin appears as the Phantom of the Opera.
In this cinematographic spectacle, the pop-cultural archive turns out to be a harbinger of a hysterical society. Real-life events, advertising clips, TV adverts, series, zombie films and blockbusters create a cinematic grotesque that eerily echoes the corrupting phenomenon that is Trump. Hello Dankness was edited during the COVID pandemic. Fuelled by political madness, the narrative lurches into a contemporary hellscape, bringing sense to a flood of nonsense with a revolutionary and uncompromising attitude.

directors/script/editing/production

Soda Jerk

Sound design

Soda Jerk, Sam Smith

contact

Soda Jerk

WWW

sodajerk.info

Portrait of the artist duo Soda Jerk

Soda Jerk

Soda Jerk is an Australian artist duo who make sample-based films with a rogue documentary impulse. They are fundamentally interested in the politics of images; how they circulate, whom they benefit and how they can be undone. Based in New York since 2012, they have recently relocated to Europe. Soda Jerk have exhibited extensively within the fields of art and experimental cinema, and have collaborated on projects with cyber-feminist collective VNS Matrix and electronic music group The Avalanches. Hello Dankness premiered at the Berlinale in 2023.


Films by Soda Jerk (selection)
Terror Nullius 2018 | The Time That Remains 2012 | Hollywood Burn 2006


Awards for ›Hello Dankness‹
Best Feature – Atlanta Film Festival, Best Feature – Lausanne Underground Film & Music Festival, Blackmagic Design Australian Innovation Award – Melbourne International Film Festival

17 Apr 2024 20:00
Book tickets

Hello Dankness

17 Apr 2024 20:00
Ticket buchen

Hello Dankness

Soda Jerk

AU
2022
Experimentalfilm
70’
OFe
Fokus: Rage & Horror

Soda Jerk sezieren in ihrer atemberaubenden Collage aus hunderten von raubkopierten Filmclips die US-amerikanische Gesellschaft und Politik zwischen 2016 bis 2021. Die Jahre der Präsidentschaft von Donald Trump werden in Form eines Vorstadt-Musicals zu einem psychotropen Horror-Spektakel gemerged. Verschwörungstheorien gewinnen die Oberhand, Hotdogs debattieren den Clash der Kulturen, Mülleimer werden zu QAnon-Predigern, Zombies versammeln sich für die Revolution und reale Ereignisse werden zu Broadway-Musicals umgemodelt. Zu den raubkopierten Protagonist*innen gehören Tom Hanks, Annette Bening, Bruce Dern, Ice Cube, Wayne und Garth, Maya und Ana, Rue und Jules, Seth Rogen und Reyn Doi. Amerikanische Politiker*innen spielen sich selbst, Jesse Eisenberg ist zu erleben in der Rolle von Mark Zuckerberg und Wladimir Putin spielt das Phantom der Oper.
In diesem kinematografischen Dauerbeschuss entpuppt sich das popkulturelle Archiv als Menetekel einer hysterischen Gesellschaft. Aus realen Ereignissen, Werbeclips, TV-Spots, Serien, Zombie-Filmen und Blockbustern entsteht so eine filmische Groteske, die dem zersetzenden Phänomen Trump verblüffend nahe kommt. Hello Dankness wurde während der Covid-Pandemie geschnitten. Gespeist von politischem Wahnsinn, taumelt die Erzählung in eine zeitgenössische Höllenlandschaft und bringt mit revolutionärer und kompromissloser Haltung Sinn in eine Flut von Unsinn.

Regie/Buch/Montage/Produktion

Soda Jerk

Sounddesign

Soda Jerk, Sam Smith

Kontakt

Soda Jerk

WWW

sodajerk.info

Porträt der Künstlerinnen-Duo Soda Jerk

Soda Jerk

Soda Jerk ist ein australisches Künstler*innen-Duo, das Sample-Filme mit einem schurkischen Dokumentarfilm-Ansatz macht. Sie interessieren sich für die Politik der Bilder; wie sie zirkulieren, wem sie nützen und wie sie rückgängig gemacht werden können. Seit 2012 ansässig in New York, sind sie kürzlich nach Europa umgezogen. Soda Jerk hat zahlreiche Ausstellungen im Kunstkontext und im experimentellen Film durchgeführt und an Projekten mit dem cyberfeministischen Kollektiv VNS Matrix und der Gruppe für elektronische Musik The Avalanches zusammengearbeitet. Hello Dankness wurde 2023 auf der Berlinale uraufgeführt.


Filme von Soda Jerk (Auswahl)
Terror Nullius 2018 | The Time That Remains 2012 | Hollywood Burn 2006


Preise für ›Hello Dankness‹
Best Feature – Atlanta Film Festival, Best Feature – Lausanne Underground Film & Music Festival, Blackmagic Design Australian Innovation Award – Melbourne International Film Festival

17 Apr 2024 20:00
Ticket buchen