FtWTF – Female to What the Fuck

FtWTF – Female to What the Fuck

Cordula Thym, Katharina Lampert

AT
2015
Documentary
92’
desired! – film lust & queer

What does it mean to identify oneself as trans*? In six personal portraits, FtWTF explores backgrounds and reasons of living sexual identities. And it looks at how lives change as a result of these decisions, starting with a given sexuality at birth and progressing to an uncertain destination – »what the fuck« – as the title says. In probing interviews, the protagonists talk in a disarmingly candid and humorous way about personal and state prerequisites, about the consequences and the sometimes bizarre circumstances of their decisions. Masculinity in the queer scene is another important subject that is discussed in the film. Avoiding stereotypical narrative elements, the two directors break with the frequently told (and medically required) narrative of a painful coming-out, »of being born in the wrong body«. Instead, the film offers scope for non-binary identities and paints a realistic picture of sex changes as they occur today. Without voyeuristic elements, tragedy and pathos, the films offers a political analysis and a feminist perspective of the subject. In doing so, Thym’s and Lampert’s protagonists become heroes and heroines of gender difference.

Director

Cordula Thym, Katharina Lampert

Cinematography

Judith Benedikt Schnitt Niki Mossböck

Animation

Nick Prokesch

Sound

Johanna Kirsch

Music

Armin Lorenz, Veronika Eberhart

Production

Katharina Lampert, Cordula Thym

Contact

sixpackfilm

Cordula Thym

Born in 1977 and raised in Tirol, Thym studied film editing at the Filmacademy Vienna. She later worked as an assistant editor, sound recordist and editor. FtWTF is her second joint project with Katharina Lampert.


Films by Cordula Thym
verliebt, verzopft, verwegen. Geschichten lesbischer (Un-)Sichtbarkeit im Wien der 50er und 60er Jahre 2009 | Beyond Borderline 2002

Katharina Lampert

Die 1976 in Wien geborene Künstlerin studierte Konzeptuelle Kunst an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. 2009 entstand die erste gemeinsame Arbeit mit Cordula Thym. Lambert realisiert Einzel- und Gemeinschaftsprojekte in den Bereichen bildende Kunst und Film.

FtWTF – Female to What the Fuck

FtWTF – Female to What the Fuck

Cordula Thym, Katharina Lampert

AT
2015
Dokumentarfilm
92’
begehrt! - filmlust queer

Was kann es heißen, sich als trans* zu identifizieren? In sechs persönlichen Porträts nähert sich FtWTF verschiedenen Hintergründen und Motiven, geschlechtliche Identität zu leben, und den für manche daraus resultierenden neuen und sich weiter verändernden Lebenswegen; ausgehend von einem bei der Geburt zugewiesenen Startpunkt zu einem vor- läufig offenen Zielpunkt – »was auch immer – what the fuck«, wie es im Titel heißt. In tiefgreifenden Interviews erzählen die Protagonist*innen entwaffnend ehrlich und voller Humor von den persönlichen und staatlichen Voraussetzungen, Konsequenzen und den manchmal auch skurrilen Umständen ihrer Entscheidung. Auch die Auseinandersetzung mit Männlichkeiten in der queeren Szene ist ein wichtiges Thema des Films. In dem Verzicht auf stereotype Erzählelemente bricht die Arbeit des Regieduos mit dem oft erzählten (und medizinisch immer noch gängigen) Narrativ eines schmerzhaften Coming-outs ›im falschen Körper geboren zu sein‹. Stattdessen schafft der Film Raum für nicht-binäre Identitäten und zeichnet ein realitätsnahes Bild heutiger Geschlechtertransformationen, das ohne voyeuristische Blicke, Tragik und Pathos auskommt, politisch analysiert und feministisch informiert. Dabei werden Thyms und Lamperts Protagonist*innen zu Held*innen der Geschlechterdifferenz.

Regie

Cordula Thym, Katharina Lampert

Bildgestaltung

Judith Benedikt Schnitt Niki Mossböck

Animation

Nick Prokesch

Ton

Johanna Kirsch

Musik

Armin Lorenz, Veronika Eberhart

Produktion

Katharina Lampert, Cordula Thym

Kontakt

sixpackfilm

Cordula Thym

Geboren 1977 und aufgewachsen in Tirol, absolvierte Thym an der Filmakademie Wien ein Schnittstudium. Später arbeitete sie als Schnittassistentin, Tonfrau und Cutterin. FtWTF ist ihr zweites gemeinsames Projekt mit Katharina Lampert.


Filme von Cordula Thym
verliebt, verzopft, verwegen. Geschichten lesbischer (Un-)Sichtbarkeit im Wien der 50er und 60er Jahre 2009 | Beyond Borderline 2002

Katharina Lampert

Born in Vienna in 1976, the artist studied conceptual art at Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. In 2009, she collaborated with Cordula Thym on their first joint project. Lambert produces individual and group projects in the fields of fine art and film.