Don’t Call Me Son

Mãe só há uma

Don’t Call Me Son

Anna Muylaert

Pierre is seventeen and lives with his mother Aracy and sister Jacqueline in São Paulo suburb. The excitement level in his life is pretty standard for a teenager: he plays in a band, has sex at parties, and secretly tries out women’s clothes and lipstick in front of the mirror. But then he learns that the woman he thought was his mother stole him at birth from hospital. His world collapses overnight – and a new one opens up: Aracy is arrested and Pierre moves in with his well-off biological parents Gloria and Matheus and suspicious younger brother Joca. He even gives up his name: the parents want him to settle into the new family set-up as »Felipe«. But Pierre has his own ideas regarding his future life.

»The basis of the plot of Don’t Call Me Son is a very famous case in Brazil. The character of the first mother has even been used in soap operas, but no one really talked about the situation of the son. I wanted to develop this situation because I thought that in a symbolic way, every child has to change its mother and family when they become teenagers and start to show new sides of their personality that the family won’t love as much as they used to when this child was a toddler.«
Anna Muylaert


Awards for ›Don’t Call Me Son‹
Männer Reader Jury Award – Teddy Award, Berlinale 2016 | Best Actor Award (Naomi Nero) & Rainbow Spike & Ribera del Duero Best Director AwardValladolid International Film Festival, Spain 2016

Director / Script

Anna Muylaert

Cinematography

Barbara Alvarez

Editing

Helio Vilela Nunes

Sound

Gabriela Cunha

Cast

Naomi Nero, Daniel Botelho, Dani Nefusi, Matheus Nachtergaele

Production

Dezenove Som e Imagens, Maria Ionescu, Sara Silveira, Anna Muylaert

Contact

Loco Films

Portrait der Regisseurin Anna Muylaert

Anna Muylaert

Film-maker and screen writer Anna Muylaert was born in São Paulo, Brazil in 1964. Between 1980 and 1984 she studied art and communication at the University of São Paulo. She then worked as a film critic and for Brazilian television. Her short films successfully screened at festivals in the 1990s; she has since directed four feature films which have won a number of awards.


Films by Anna Muylaert

Que horas ela volta? (The Second Mother) 2015 | É proibido fumar (Smoke Gets in Your Eyes) 2009 | Durval Discos 2002

Don’t Call Me Son

Mãe só há uma

Don’t Call Me Son

Anna Muylaert

Pierre ist siebzehn und lebt mit seiner Mutter Aracy und Schwester Jacqueline in einem Vorort von São Paulo. Sein Leben ist in etwa so aufregend, wie es sich für einen Teenager gehört: Er spielt in einer Band, hat Sex auf Partys und experimentiert heimlich vor dem Spiegel mit Frauenkleidern und Lippenstift. Doch dann erfährt er, dass seine Mutter ihn als Neugeborenes aus einem Krankenhaus gestohlen hat. Von einem Tag auf den anderen bricht seine Welt zusammen – und eine neue tut sich auf: Aracy wird verhaftet und Pierre zieht zu seinen wohlhabenden leiblichen Eltern Gloria und Matheus und dem argwöhnischen jüngeren Bruder Joca. Nicht einmal seinen Namen nimmt er mit: Als »Felipe« soll sich der verlorene Sohn in das neue Familienleben eingewöhnen, so die Vorstellung der Eltern. Doch Pierre hat seinen eigenen Lebensentwurf.

»Die Grundlage für den Plot von Mãe só há uma war ein sehr bekannter, realer Fall in Brasilien. Die Figur der ersten Mutter wurde sogar für Seifenopern verwendet, aber es hat sich niemand wirklich mit der Situation des Sohnes beschäftigt. Ich wollte dieses Thema ausbauen, denn ich denke, dass auf symbolischer Ebene jedes Kind seine Mutter und seine Familie wechseln muss, wenn es in die Pubertät kommt; dann kommen neue Seiten seiner Persönlichkeit zutage, die seine Familie nicht mehr so sehr lieben wird wie vorher, als es noch ein kleines Kind war.«
Anna Muylaert


Auszeichnungen für  ›Don’t Call Me Son‹
Männer Reader Jury AwardTeddy Award, Berlinale 2016 | Best Actor Award (Naomi Nero) & Rainbow Spike & Ribera del Duero Best Director AwardValladolid International Film Festival, Spain 2016

Regie / Buch

Anna Muylaert

Bildgestaltung

Barbara Alvarez

Montage

Helio Vilela Nunes

Ton

Gabriela Cunha

Darsteller*innen

Naomi Nero, Daniel Botelho, Dani Nefusi, Matheus Nachtergaele

Produktion

Dezenove Som e Imagens, Maria Ionescu, Sara Silveira, Anna Muylaert

Kontakt

Loco Films

Portrait der Regisseurin Anna Muylaert

Anna Muylaert

Die Regisseurin und Drehbuchautorin Anna Muylaert wurde 1964 in São Paulo, Brasilien geboren. Sie studierte von 1980 bis 1984 Kunst und Kommunikation an der Universität von São Paulo und arbeitete dann zunächst als Filmkritikerin und für das brasilianische Fernsehen. Nach- dem ihre Kurzfilme in den Neunzigerjahren erfolgreich auf Festivals liefen, drehte sie insgesamt vier Langfilme, die mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurden.


Filme von Anna Muylaert

Que horas ela volta? (The Second Mother) 2015 | É proibido fumar (Smoke Gets in Your Eyes) 2009 | Durval Discos 2002