Gut Renovation

Gut Renovation

Su Friedrich

US
2012
Documentary
81’
Focus

In the late 1980s, various artists moved into the New York working-class neighbourhood of Williamsburg which, at the time, was still populated by small manufacturers, Polish butchers, and auto repair shops etc. If SoHo took 30 years to evolve from an artists’ bohemia to an art gallery hotspot, to an outdoor shopping mall, Williamsburg’s demise was much faster – due in part to a 2005 zoning law change.
With a jaundiced eye and a combination of wit, anger and political savvy, film-maker Su Friedrich records how the neighbourhood has changed from when she arrived in the 1980s to the rich-hipster haven it has now become: she hovers on the sleek granite kitchen counters featured at the condo openings she attends; she paints ironic graffiti on construction fences; she comments wryly on her new neighbours; she captures each demolition on film.


Awards for ›Gut Renovation‹
Audience Award, Brooklyn International Film Festival 2012

Film programme A Better Life

Director / Cinematography / Editing

Su Friedrich

Script

Su Fredrich, Cathy Quinlan

Sound

Bill Seery, Mercer Media

Contact

Outcast Films

Su Friedrich

Su Friedrich has lived and worked in New York since the mid-70s. Her 16-mm films and videos have been shown at eighteen retrospectives and are part of the collections at the Museum of Modern Art, Whitney Museum of American Art and the Centre Pompidou, among others. She teaches film and video production at Princeton University.


Films by Su Friedrich (Selection)
Gut Renovation
2012 | From the Ground Up 2007 | Seeing Red 2005 | The Head of a Pin 2004 | The Odds of Recovery 2002 | Hide and Seek 1996 | Rules of the Road 1993 | First Comes Love 1991 | Sink or Swim 1990 | Gently Down the Stream 1981

Programm

Gut Renovation

Su Friedrich

US
2012
Dokumentarfilm
81’
Fokus

In den 1980er Jahren zogen Künstler in das New Yorker Arbeiterviertel Williamsburg – das damals noch bewohnt war von Handwerkern, polnischen Metzgern und Autoschlossern. In SoHo hatte es 30 Jahre gedauert, bis das Künstler-Viertel sich über einen Galerie Hot-Spot in eine Einkaufszone verwandelte. Williamsburgs Gentrifizierung ging sehr viel schneller, auch wegen eines 2005 veränderten Gebietsrechts.
Mit zynischem Blick und einer Kombination aus Witz, Wut, Verzweiflung und gesundem Menschenverstand zeigt Regisseurin Su Friedrich, wie sich die Nachbarschaft in Williamsburg seit ihrem Einzug in den 1980er Jahren in einen Hipster-Himmel verwandelt hat: So setzt Friedrich zum Beispiel polierte Granitküchentheken in Szene, die sie bei Makler-Führungen von Luxus-Eigentumswohnungen filmt. Sie sprüht Graffitis auf Bauzäune, kommentiert ihre neuen Nachbarn mit ironischen Sprüchen und filmt einen Abriss nach dem nächsten.


Auszeichnungen für ›Gut Renovation‹
Audience Award, Brooklyn International Film Festival 2012

Filmreihe Schöner Leben

Regie / Bildgestaltung / Montage

Su Friedrich

Buch

Su Fredrich, Cathy Quinlan

Ton

Bill Seery, Mercer Media

Kontakt

Outcast Films

Su Friedrich

Su Friedrich lebt und arbeitet seit Mitte der 70er Jahre in New York. Ihre 16-mm-Filme und Videoarbeiten wurden bereits in achtzehn Retrospektiven gezeigt und sind u. a. in Sammlungen des Museum of Modern Art, des Whitney Museum of American Art und des Centre Pompidou vertreten. Sie lehrt Film- und Videoproduktion an der Princeton University.


Filme von Su Friedrich (Auswahl)
Gut Renovation
2012 | From the Ground Up 2007 | Seeing Red 2005 | The Head of a Pin 2004 | The Odds of Recovery 2002 | Hide and Seek 1996 | Rules of the Road 1993 | First Comes Love 1991 | Sink or Swim 1990 | Gently Down the Stream 1981