Call Her Applebroog

Call Her Applebroog

Beth B

US
2016
Documentary
70’
Performances & Specials

In 2016, Beth B completed her long-standing documentary film project about her mother, New York sculptor and painter Ida Applebroog. Call Her Applebroog is the complex portrait of an artist who preoccupies herself with her past. The sketches, paintings and diaries she has produced over many decades tell the story of a woman who found psychological and sexual freedom through her art. Now, aged over 80, she is prompted by the artistic and personal curiosity of her daughter to reappraise her own provocative early work.

»I made this film over the course of fifteen years. I hadn’t really intended to make a film about Ida. It was more like I was documenting her work. She really did not want to be filmed. She’s such a private person.
As time went on I started to realize this was my next passion project. I think it was only through the course of those many years that a different kind of trust developed. But still there were times when she got frightened. There was a time when she said, I want to be able to see it before it goes out. I want to be able to take something out if I don’t like it.
At first I said, sure. But I’ve never allowed anybody to do that. I realized I was editing and trying to mind-read her reaction at the same time. I wrote to her and said I really can’t make this film if I need your approval. Because then I’m not making the film from my point of view.
That’s really when the issue of trust loomed large for both of us. I said if you can’t trust me, who can you trust?«
Beth B

Director / Cinematography / Editing / Production

Beth B

Sound

Paul Furedi, Eric DiStefano

Music

Jim Coleman

Contact

Beth B

Beth B

Beth B exploded onto the New York film scene in the late 70s after receiving her BFA from the School of Visual Arts in 1977. During her career, Beth B has produced over thirty films within the narrative, documentary and experimental genres. Her work has been shown at the Sundance Film Festival, New York Film Festival, Berlinale, Locarno Film Festival and in galleries and museums such as MoMA, the Whitney Biennial, the Tate Modern and the Centre Pompidou. Her films have been the subject of retrospectives at London’s National Film Theatre, the Danish Film Institute, the Montreal Film Festival and Lisbon’s Nucleo Dos Cineastas Independentes. Beth B’s work challenges society’s conventions, embraces the underdog and focuses on social issues and human rights


Films by Beth B (Selection)
Exposed 2013 | Breathe In/Breathe Out 2000 | Visiting Desire 1996 | Two Small Bodies 1994 | Salvation! 1987 | Vortex 1983 | The Trap Door 1981 | The Offenders 1980

Call Her Applebroog

Call Her Applebroog

Beth B

US
2016
Dokumentarfilm
70’
Performances & Specials

2016 schloss Beth B ihr langjähriges Dokumentarfilmprojekt über ihre Mutter ab, die New Yorker Bildhauerin und Malerin Ida Applebroog. Call Her Applebroog ist ein komplexes Porträt einer Künstlerin, die sich mit ihrer Vergangenheit auseinandersetzt. Aus ihren über Jahrzehnte hinweg entstandenen Zeichnungen, Gemälden und Tagebüchern spricht die Geschichte einer Frau, die sich durch ihre Kunst psychologische und sexuelle Freiheit verschafft hat. Und die nun, angestoßen durch den künstlerischen und persönlichen Erkenntnisdrang der Tochter, mit über achtzig Jahren ihr eigenes, provokantes Frühwerk neu zu schätzen lernt.

»Ich habe diesen Film über fünfzehn Jahre hinweg gemacht. Ich hatte gar nicht vor, einen Film über Ida zu drehen. Ich dokumentierte eher ihr Werk. Sie wollte gar nicht gefilmt werden. Sie ist so ein zurückhaltender Mensch. (…) Ich glaube, dass wir erst über die Jahre eine andere Art von Vertrauen entwickelt haben. Und doch gab es immer noch Momente, in denen sie Angst bekam. Einmal sagte sie, sie wolle den Film sehen, bevor er erscheint. Sie wolle die Möglichkeit haben, etwas herauszunehmen, wenn es ihr nicht gefiele.
Zuerst sagte ich: Ja, klar. Aber ich habe so etwas noch niemandem erlaubt. Mir wurde bewusst, dass ich beim Schneiden versuchte, ihre Reaktion zu antizipieren. Ich schrieb ihr, dass ich den Film nicht machen kann, wenn ich ihre Zustimmung brauche. Denn dann mache ich den Film nicht aus meiner Perspektive.
An diesem Punkt wurde die Vertrauensfrage für uns beide entscheidend. Ich sagte ihr: Wenn Du mir nicht vertrauen kannst, wem dann?«
Beth B

Regie / Bildgestaltung / Montage / Produktion

Beth B

Ton

Paul Furedi, Eric DiStefano

Musik

Jim Coleman

Kontakt

Beth B

Beth B

Nach ihrem Abschluss an der School of Visual Arts im Jahr 1977 enterte Beth B die New Yorker Filmszene der späten 70er Jahre. Sie realisierte über dreißig Filme narrativen, dokumentarischen und experimentellen Genres, die beim Sundance Film Festival, dem New York Film Festival, der Berlinale und dem Locarno Festival sowie in Galerien und Museen wie dem MoMA, der Whitney Biennale, der Tate Modern und dem Centre Pompidou liefen. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in Retrospektiven am National Film Theater in London, dem Dänischen Filminstitut, auf dem Montreal Film Festival und beim Núcleo dos Cineastas Independentes in Lissabon gezeigt. Beth Bs Werk hinterfragt gesellschaftliche Konventionen, ergreift Partei für Underdogs und stellt soziale Fragen und Menschenrechte in den Fokus.


Filme von Beth B (Auswahl)
Exposed 2013 | Breathe In/Breathe Out 2000 | Visiting Desire 1996 | Two Small Bodies 1994 | Salvation! 1987 | Vortex 1983 | The Trap Door 1981 | The Offenders 1980