Body

Body

Małgorzata Szumowska

»The body can impose terrible limits, it can become an obsession. To all intents and purposes, everything might be related to the body. Thus, we search for something that is aside from it, we miss this thing that is outside of it.«
Małgorzata Szumowska

Seeing dead bodies is part of Janusz’s everyday routine. As a coroner, he investigates precisely. At the scene of the crime, he analyses every detail. In dealing with his anorexic daughter Olga and her suicidal thoughts, however, Janusz is helpless, as if in a daze. The girl is still mourning the death of her mother and seemingly wants her own body to wither away. Because Janusz does not know how to help his daughter, he has her admitted to a clinic where we meet Anna, a psychiatrist. Anna lost her baby some years ago and has since then lived alone with her big dog and a curious penchant for the esoteric. Three persons who have each lost a loved one – three radically different approaches to body and mind. Anna’s belief in the incorporeal is not entirely dissimilar to Olga’s desire for a disembodied spirit. Janusz, on other hand, believes in nothing.

Małgorzata Szumowska works here with elements of black comedy to address the difficulty of processing loss of loved ones. She has filmed this serious topic in quiet, unhurried images without pathos – but also not without quirky and thoughtful humour.

In cooperation with Polnisches Institut Düsseldorf.

Director

Małgorzata Szumowska

Script

Małgorzata Szumowska, Michael Englert

Cinematography

Michael Englert

Editing

Jacek Drosio

Sound

Marcin Jachyra

Cast

Janusz Gajos, Maja Ostaszewska, Justyna Suwała, Ewa Dałkowska,
Adam Woronowicz

Production

NOWHERE, Jacek Drosio, Małgorzata Szumowska,
Michai Englert, D35, Marcin Kryjom, Kino Swiat, Marcin Piasecki, ´
Mazowiecki Fundusz Filmowy, Anna Kielan, Lambros Ziotas

Contact

memento films international

Port

Małgorzata Szumowska

Małgorzata Szumowska now rates as one of the most prominent filmmakers in Poland. She has won numerous international awards, including the RWE Film Award 2013 in Dortmund, the Teddy Award for In the Name of… and the Silver Leopard at the Locarno Film Festival for 33 Scenes from Life. Premiered in competition at the Berlin International Film Festival 2015, Body was awarded the Silver Bear for Best Director.


Films by Małgorzata Szumowska (Selection)
W imie… 2013 | Elles 2011 | 33 szeny z zycia 2008 | Solidarnosc, Solidarnosc 2005 | Ono 2004 | Szczesliwy czlowiek 2000 | Cisza 1998

Body

Body

Małgorzata Szumowska

»Der Körper kann uns schreckliche Grenzen aufzwingen, und er kann zur Obsession werden. All unsere Absichten und Ziele können mit dem Körper zusammenhängen. Folglich suchen wir nach etwas, das unabhängig von ihm ist, wir vermissen diese eine Sache, die außerhalb von ihm ist.«
Małgorzata Szumowska

Tote Körper zu sehen ist für Janusz Alltag. Als Ermittlungsrichter recherchiert er seine Fälle präzise, am Tatort analysiert er jedes Detail. Im Umgang mit seiner magersüchtigen Tochter Olga und ihren Suizidgedanken hingegen ist Janusz hilflos, oft wie betäubt. Das Mädchen trauert noch immer der verstorbenen Mutter nach und möchte ihren Körper am liebsten zum Verschwinden bringen. Weil Janusz seiner Tochter nicht zu helfen weiß, lässt er sie in eine Klinik einweisen, in der die Psychologin Anna tätig ist. Anna hat vor Jahren ihr Baby verloren, lebt seitdem allein mit einer Dogge und hat einen kuriosen Hang zum Esoterischen. Drei Personen, die einen geliebten Menschen verloren haben – drei radikal unterschiedliche Zugänge zu Körper und Geist. Annas Glaube an die Unkörperlichen ist dem Wunsch nach einem körperlosen Geist von Olga nicht ganz fremd ‒ Janusz hingegen glaubt an nichts.

Małgorzata Szumowska arbeitet mit Elementen der schwarzen Komödie, um von der Schwierigkeit zu erzählen, den Verlust geliebter Menschen zu verarbeiten. Sie inszeniert das ernste Thema in ruhigen, unaufgeregten Bildern, ganz ohne Pathos, dafür mit skurrilem aber bedachtsamem Humor.

In Kooperation mit Polnisches Institut Düsseldorf.

Regie

Małgorzata Szumowska

Buch

Małgorzata Szumowska, Michael Englert

Bildgestaltung

Michael Englert

Montage

Jacek Drosio

Ton

Marcin Jachyra

Darsteller*innen

Janusz Gajos, Maja Ostaszewska, Justyna Suwała, Ewa Dałkowska,
Adam Woronowicz

Produktion

NOWHERE, Jacek Drosio, Małgorzata Szumowska,
Michai Englert, D35, Marcin Kryjom, Kino Swiat, Marcin Piasecki, ´
Mazowiecki Fundusz Filmowy, Anna Kielan, Lambros Ziotas

Kontakt

memento films international

Porträt der Regisseurin Małgorzata Szumowska

Małgorzata Szumowska

Małgorzata Szumowska zählt zu den prominentesten Filmemacher*innen Polens. Sie gewann zahlreiche internationale Preise, unter anderem den RWE Filmpreis 2013 in Dortmund und den Teddy Award für W imié… oder den Silbernen Leoparden beim Filmfestival von Locarno für 33 szeny z zycia. Body feierte seine Premiere im Wettbewerb der Berlinale 2015 und wurde mit dem Silbernen Bären für die beste Regie ausgezeichnet.


Filme von Małgorzata Szumowska (Auwahl)
W imie… 2013 | Elles 2011 | 33 szeny z zycia 2008 | Solidarnosc, Solidarnosc 2005 | Ono 2004 | Szczesliwy czlowiek 2000 | Cisza 1998