Blanka

Blanka

Kohki Hasei

PH / IT / JP
2015
Feature Film
75’
Film Education

»I’ve seen adults buying children. Just because I‘m a kid, can I not buy myself a mother?«

Blanka battles her way through life as a street child in Manila. She lives in a small shack made from cardboard boxes and manages to make ends meet through pickpocketing and sharp tricks. She takes no nonsense in her dealings with the groups of lads in her neighbourhood. When the eleven-year-old sees an actress on TV with her adopted children, she hatches a plan: »If you can buy children, then I can buy myself a mother, too.« By chance, the girl meets blind street musician Peter. He recognises the beauty of Blanka’s singing voice, and they strike up as a busking duo, actually enjoying enough success to finally afford a proper bed for the night and enough to eat. But it’s not long before she slips back into life on the streets once again. Peter finds out about Blanka’s dream, and they end up having a fight. Blanka then goes off.


Awards for ›Blanka‹ (Selection)
First Prize International Competition / ECFA-Award (European Children’s Film Association) – Tel Aviv International Children’s Film Festival 2016 | Human Values Award Olympia International Film Festival for Children and Young People, Pyrgos 2015 | Best Children’s Feature Film – Carrousel international du film, Rimouski, Kanada 2016 | Lanterna Magica (CGS) Award – Venice International Film Festival 2015 | Best Children’s Film – Cinekid Festival, Amsterdam 2016

Director / Script

Kohki Hasei

Cinematography

Takeyuki Onishi

Editing

Ben Tolentino

Music

Aska Matsumiya, Alberto Bof, Francis de Veyra

Cast

Cydel Gabutero, Peter Millari, Jomar Bisuyo, Raymond Camacho, Ruby Ruiz

Production

Dorje Film

Contact

m-appeal

Kohki Hasei

After finishing high school in 1994, Kohki Hasei moved to Tokyo and began working in the city’s art scene. In 1998, he founded the »Obscure Gallery«. His first documentary film W/O was shown at numerous film festivals in 2001, with the Seoul Net Festival (SeNef) in South Korea awarding it the Digital Express Prize. In 2007, Haseis’ second film Godog was released, for which he spent several weeks on a landfill in Manila and which won the Short Film Prize at the Kustendorf Film Festival in Serbia.


Films by Kohki Hasei
Godog 2007 | W/O 2001

Blanka

Blanka

Kohki Hasei

PH / IT / JP
2015
Spielfilm
75’
Filmbildung

»Ich habe Erwachsene gesehen, die sich Kinder kaufen. Und nur weil ich ein Kind bin, soll ich mir keine Mutter kaufen dürfen?«

Blanka schlägt sich als Straßenkind in Manila durch. Sie wohnt in einem kleinen Verschlag aus Pappkartons und hält sich mit Diebstählen und Tricksereien über Wasser. Von den Jungsbanden in ihrer Umgebung lässt sie sich nichts gefallen. Als die Elfjährige im Fernsehen eine Schauspielerin mit ihren Adoptivkindern sieht, schmiedet sie einen Plan: »Wenn man sich Kinder kaufen kann, kann ich mir auch eine Mutter kaufen.« Zufällig begegnet das Mädchen dem blinden Straßenmusiker Peter. Er erkennt Blankas schöne Singstimme und als Duo haben die beiden tatsächlich Erfolg, endlich ein richtiges Bett und genug zu essen. Bald aber holt sie das Leben auf der Straße wieder ein. Peter erfährt von Blankas Traum und es kommt zum Streit. Blanka läuft davon.


Auszeichnungen für ›Blanka‹ (Auswahl)
First Prize International Competition / ECFA-Award (European Children’s Film Association) – Tel Aviv International Children’s Film Festival 2016 | Human Values Award Olympia International Film Festival for Children and Young People, Pyrgos 2015 | Best Children’s Feature Film – Carrousel international du film, Rimouski, Kanada 2016 | Lanterna Magica (CGS) Award – Venice International Film Festival 2015 | Best Children’s Film – Cinekid Festival, Amsterdam 2016

Regie / Buch

Kohki Hasei

Bildgestaltung

Takeyuki Onishi

Montage

Ben Tolentino

Musik

Aska Matsumiya, Alberto Bof, Francis de Veyra

Darsteller*innen

Cydel Gabutero, Peter Millari, Jomar Bisuyo, Raymond Camacho, Ruby Ruiz

Produktion

Dorje Film

Kontakt

m-appeal

Kohki Hasei

Nach seinem Schulabschluss im Jahr 1994 zog Kohki Hasei nach Tokio und begann dort in der Kunstszene zu arbeiten. 1998 gründete er die »Obscure Gallery«. Sein erster Dokumentarfilm W/O wurde 2001 mehrfach auf Festivals gezeigt und vom Seoul Net Festival (SeNef) in Südkorea mit dem Digital Express Prize ausgezeichnet. 2007 erschien Haseis zweiter Film Godog, für den er mehrere Wochen auf einer Mülldeponie in Manila verbrachte und der auf dem Kustendorf Film Festival in Serbien prämiert wurde.


Filme von Kohki Hasei
Godog 2007 | W/O 2001