Majub’s Journey

Majubs Reise

Majub’s Journey

Eva Knopf

DE
2013
Documentary
50’
Panorama

»Almost all we know about [Mohamed Husen] stems from the archives of the National Socialists, from documents kept by the German Foreign Office and from his appearances in propaganda films. He has no surviving relatives and there is nothing that reflects him in his own terms. If we show these archive pictures and documents, we run the risk of repeating the degradations that Mohamed Husen had to go though. If we don’t show them, he will remain forever forgotten in the archives.«
Eva Knopf

Born in the then colony of German East Africa, Majub bin Adam Mohamed Hussein went on to become a soldier for the Germans in the First World War. He was just nine years old. After the Germans lost the war, they didn’t give him his pay. Subsequently, some ten years after the war, Majub decided to collect his wages in person. Thus it was that in National Socialist Germany a colonial soldier from the First World War became an extra and bit player much in demand for the German film industry. Whenever a black person was needed in the films of the Nazi period, it was nearly always Majub who got the part. He was Zarah Leander’s chauffeur, Hans Albers’s servant and Heinz Rühmann’s lift boy. In her essayistic documentary film Majub’s Journey, director Eva Knopf relates the story of his childhood in the colonies, his life in Nazi Germany and his place in the colonial fantasies of the Germans.

Director / Script

Eva Knopf

Cinematography

Rainer Hoffmann

Editing

Anne Glossmann

Sound

Nadja Hermann, Anna Bartholdy

Music

John Gürtler

Production

Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Koproduktion mit dem SWR, dem Goethe-Institut und der Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung

Contact

Eva Knopf

Eva Knopf

Eva Knopf studied ethnology in Göttingen, rhetoric/ film theory at the University of California in Berkeley, film & television studies at the University of Amsterdam and documentary film direction at the Baden- Württemberg Film Academy in Ludwigsburg. She teaches visual and media anthropology on the MA programme at the Free University of Berlin and is an academic associate at the German Research Society (DFG) on the project entitled »History of the Documentary Film in Germany 1945-2005«. Majubs Reise was her graduation film for the Baden-Württemberg Film Academy.

Majubs Reise

Majubs Reise

Eva Knopf

DE
2013
Dokumentarfilm
50’
Panorama

»Fast alles, was wir über [Mohamed Husen] wissen, stammt aus den Archiven der Nationalsozialisten – aus Unterlagen des Auswärtigen Amtes und seinen Auftritten in Propagandafilmen. Er hat keine lebenden Verwandten – es gibt nichts, was ihn unter seinen eigenen Bedingungen zeigt. Wenn wir diese Archivbilder und Dokumente zeigen, laufen wir Gefahr, die Degradierungen, die Mohamed Husen erfahren hat, zu wiederholen. Wenn wir sie nicht zeigen, wird er für immer in den Archiven vergessen werden.«
Eva Knopf

In der Kolonie Deutsch-Ostafrika geboren, wird Majub bin Adam Mohamed Hussein im Ersten Weltkrieg Soldat für die Deutschen. Damals ist er neun Jahre alt. Nachdem die Deutschen den Krieg verloren haben, zahlen sie ihm seinen Sold nicht mehr aus. Etwa zehn Jahre nach dem Krieg entschließt Majub sich deshalb, seinen ausstehenden Sold persönlich abzuholen. Im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland wird aus dem Kolonialsoldaten des Ersten Weltkriegs ein vielbeschäftigter Statist und Kleindarsteller im deutschen Kino. Fast immer, wenn es in den Filmen der Nazizeit einen Schwarzen brauchte, war es Majub, der diese Rolle spielte. Er war Zarah Leanders Chauffeur, Hans Albers’ Diener und Heinz Rühmanns Liftboy. Regisseurin Eva Knopf erzählt in ihrem essayistischen Dokumentarfilm Majubs Reise von seiner Kindheit in der Kolonie, seinem Leben im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland und seinem Platz in den Kolonialfantasien der Deutschen.

Regie / Buch

Eva Knopf

Bildgestaltung

Rainer Hoffmann

Montage

Anne Glossmann

Ton

Nadja Hermann, Anna Bartholdy

Musik

John Gürtler

Produktion

Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Koproduktion mit dem SWR, dem Goethe-Institut und der Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung

Kontakt

Eva Knopf

Eva Knopf

Eva Knopf studierte Ethnologie in Göttingen, Rhetorik/Filmtheorie an der University of California in Berkeley, Film & Television Studies an der Universiteit van Amsterdam und Dokumentarfilmregie an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Ludwigsburg. Sie unterrichtet am Masterstudiengang Visual and Media Anthropology der Freien Universität Berlin und ist bei der Deutschen Forschungsgesellschaft (DFG) Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Projekt »Geschichte des dokumentarischen Films in Deutschland 1945−2005«. Majubs Reise ist ihr Diplomfilm an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg.