Callshop Istanbul

Callshop Istanbul

Hind Benchekroun, Sami Mermer

CA
2016
Documentary
89’
Focus

For anyone who travels, Istanbul has always been a hub and interlink point between Asia and Europe. The chaotic dynamics of current migration movements become visible across the cityscape – and especially in a place of seemingly mundane goings-on but where emotions are running high: the call shop. Migrants from western Africa, South Asia or the Arab world come here: immigrants, stranded souls, and others who have fled and are homeless, all of them looking for an affordable way to contact relatives in other parts of the world. The call shop is where arrangements are made that dictate the destination and future of the migrants; if and how they can make it through to the West, whether staying put or turning back seems the wiser option. The film is all about information and guidance, longing, worries, and love. Using visually striking tableaux, directing duo Hind Benchekroun and Sami Mermer let viewers eavesdrop on phone calls and ultimately accompany individual protagonists on their journey through this turbulent, transcontinental city – providing an enlightening change of perspective against the backdrop of the current discourse on today’s migration and human flight.


Awards for ›Callshop Istanbul‹
International Documentary Film Award – Duhok International Film Festival, Irak 2016 | Grand prix TV2M / Prix des droits humains – FIDADOC Agadir, Marokko 2016

Director

Hind Benchekroun, Sami Mermer

Cinematography / Editing

Sami Mermer

Production

Turtle Films, Hind Benchekroun, Sami Mermer

Contact

Hind Benchekroun

Hind Benchekroun

Scriptwriter, director and producer Hind Benchekroun was born in Morocco and has lived in Montreal, Canada, since 1990. She started working in production in 1999, and already has several short films and documentaries to her name. Callshop Istanbul is her second full-length documentary, directed together with Sami Mermer. The duo’s first joint feature film, Turtles Do Not Die of Old Age, won the 2011 Grand Prix documentary prize at the Tetouan International Mediterranean Film Festival, Morocco.


Films by Hind Benchekroun (Selection)
Turtles Do Not Die of Old Age 2010 | Taxi Casablanca 2008 | The Little Girl From Before 2005 | Tea Time 2004 | Beings 2004

Sami Mermer

Sami Mermer is a Kurdish film-maker, born in Turkey. He studied mathematics and engineering in Turkey, then film at the University of Mesopotamia as well as French and Film Studies at the University of Quebec. He has since made several documentaries and feature films, including The Box of Lanzo, a documentary about the homeless in Grand Rapids, Michigan. He runs the production company Turtle Films with Hind Benchekroun.


Films by Sami Mermer (Selection)
The Extra 2011 | Turtles Do Not Die of Old Age 2010 | The Box of Lanzo 2007 | Exit 2005 | The Little Girl From Before 2005

Callshop Istanbul

Callshop Istanbul

Sami Mermer, Hind Benchekroun

CA
2016
Dokumentarfilm
89’
Fokus

Für Reisende ist Istanbul seit jeher Knotenpunkt und Scharnier zwischen Asien und Europa. Die unübersichtlichen Dynamiken gegenwärtiger Migrationsbewegungen werden hier im Stadtbild sichtbar – und konzentrieren sich an einem Ort, der gleichermaßen profan wie emotionsgeladen ist: dem Callshop. Migrant*innen aus Westafrika, Südasien oder der arabischen Welt finden sich hier ein; Zugewanderte und Gestrandete, Geflüchtete und Heimatlose, alle, die einen erschwinglichen Weg für die Kontaktaufnahme mit ihren Angehörigen in anderen Teilen der Welt benötigen. Hier wird verhandelt, was Ziel und Zukunft der Migrant*innen bestimmt: ob die Reise fortgesetzt wird, ob und wie man sich in westliche Richtung durchschlagen kann, ob Ausharren oder Umkehren doch die klügeren Optionen scheinen. Es geht um Information und Orientierung, um Sehnsucht, Sorge, Liebe. In eindrücklichen Tableaus lässt das Regieduo Hind Benchekroun und Sami Mermer die Zuschauer*innen an den Telefonaten teilhaben und begleitet schließlich einzelne Protagonisten auf ihren Wegen durch die turbulente transkontinentale Stadt – im gegenwärtigen Diskurs über Migration und Flucht ein erhellender Perspektivwechsel.


Auszeichnungen für ›Callshop Istanbul‹
International Documentary Film Award – Duhok International Film Festival, Irak 2016 | Grand prix TV2M / Prix des droits humains – FIDADOC Agadir, Marokko 2016

Regie

Hind Benchekroun, Sami Mermer

Bildgestaltung / Montage

Sami Mermer

Produktion

Turtle Films, Hind Benchekroun, Sami Mermer

Kontakt

Hind Benchekroun

Sami Mermer

Sami Mermer ist ein kurdischer Filmemacher, der in der Türkei geboren wurde. Dort studierte er zunächst Mathematik und Ingenieurwesen, dann Film an der University of Mesopotamia sowie Französisch und Filmwissenschaft an der Université du Québec. Seitdem hat er mehrere Dokumentar- und Spielfilme realisiert, u. a. The Box of Lanzo, einen Dokumentarfilm über Obdachlose in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Gemeinsam mit Hind Benchekroun betreibt er die Produktionsfirma Turtle Films.


Filme von Sami Mermer (Auswahl)
The Extra 2011 | Turtles Do Not Die of Old Age 2010 | The Box of Lanzo 2007 | Exit 2005 | The Little Girl From Before 2005

Hind Benchekroun

Die Drehbuchautorin, Regisseurin und Produzentin wurde in Marokko geboren und lebt seit 1990 in Montreal, Kanada. Sie ist seit 1999 im Bereich Produktion tätig und hat bereits mehrere Kurz- und Dokumentarfilme realisiert. Callshop Istanbul ist der zweite lange Dokumentarfilm, bei dem sie gemeinsam mit Sami Mermer Regie führte. Mit ihrem ersten gemeinsamen Langfilm Turtles Do Not Die of Old Age gewannen sie 2011 den Großen Preis beim Festival International Cinéma Méditerranéen Tétouan, Marokko.


Filme von Hind Benchekroun (Auswahl)

Turtles Do Not Die of Old Age 2010 | Taxi Casablanca 2008 | The Little Girl From Before 2005 | Tea Time 2004 | Beings 2004