A Young Girl in Her Nineties

Une jeune fille de 90 ans

A Young Girl in Her Nineties

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Yann Coridian

FR
2016
Documentary
85’
Focus

Well-known choreographer Thierry Thieû Niang runs a dance workshop for Alzheimer patients in the geriatric department of Charles Foix d’Ivry hospital in the Parisian suburbs. In a place where many have closed themselves off to the outside world, unexpected momentum suddenly enters the everyday life of the clinic. Thierry slowly develops a rapport with patients to the familiar strains of carefully selected old French chansons. The music and movement soon reawaken forgotten memories and trigger emotions: regret, bitterness, joy, loneliness. 92-year-old Blanche Moreau, who has already withdrawn into her shell, is especially moved by the presence and attention of the young choreographer. She falls in love again like a young girl. Now it’s up to Thierry to balance out this frenzy of emotions.

The gentleness with which the choreographer approaches the patients is adopted by Valeria Bruni Tedeschi and Yann Coridian in their joint documentary film debut. With their unobtrusive narrative style and sensitive camera work, they succeed in capturing in images the tender physical and emotional moments shared by the protagonists.


Awards for ›A Young Girl in Her Nineties‹
Special Jury Award & Documentary Audience Award – Festival International du Film Francophone de Namur, Belgium | Best International Documentary – Rome Independent Film Festival 2016 | FIPRESCI Prize 2016 | Best Documentary – Tournai Ramdam Festival, Belgium 2017

Director

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Yann Coridian

Cinematography

Hélène Louvart, Yann Coridian

Editing

Anne Weil

Sound

François Waledisch

Production

Marie Balducchi

Contact

AGAT Films et Cie

WWW

agatfilmsetcie.com

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi

As an actress, Valeria Bruni Tedeschi has interpreted numerous roles in French and Italian films. In 2003, she directed her first, largely autobiographical feature film It’s Easier for a Camel… Her subsequent films under her direction Actrices (2006) and A Castle in Italy (2013) both premiered at the Cannes International Film Festival.


Films by Valeria Bruni Tedeschi
A Castle in Italy 2013 | Actresses 2007 | It’s Easier for a Camel... 2003

Yann Coridian

Yann Coridian is a film-maker, novelist and casting director. He has published almost a dozen novels with »L’école des loisirs« and in 2013 produced his first full-length film Nuts, which was shown at international festivals. Coridian regularly writes fictional work and features for the broadcasting station »France Culture« and is currently working on an adaption of a youth novel for a television series.


Films by Yann Coridian
Ouf (Nuts) 2012 | Le baiser 2007

A Young Girl in Her Nineties

Une jeune fille de 90 ans

A Young Girl in Her Nineties

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Yann Coridian

FR
2016
Dokumentarfilm
85’
Fokus

Der renommierte Choreograf Thierry Thieû Niang bietet in der geriatrischen Abteilung des Pariser Vorortkrankenhauses Charles Foix d’Ivry einen Tanzworkshop für Alzheimerpatient*innen an. Hier, wo viele mit dem Kontakt zu ihrer Umwelt schon weitgehend abgeschlossen hatten, kommt nun unverhoffter Schwung in den Klinikalltag. Zu sorgfältig ausgewählten, vertrauten Klängen alter französischer Chansons nimmt Thierry vorsichtig Kontakt auf. Bald entfalten sich in der gemeinsamen Bewegung verschüttete Erinnerungen, und Gefühle kommen zu Tage: Bedauern, Bitterkeit, Freude, Einsamkeit. Die 92-jährige Blanche Moreau, die sich bereits völlig in sich zurückgezogen hatte, zeigt sich von der Präsenz und Aufmerksamkeit des jungen Choreografen auf besondere Weise berührt: Sie verliebt sich noch einmal wie ein junges Mädchen, und es ist an Thierry, ihren Gefühlstaumel auszubalancieren.

Die Behutsamkeit des Choreografen im Umgang mit den Klinikbewohner*innen setzen Valeria Bruni Tedeschi und Yann Coridian in ihrem gemeinsamen Dokumentarfilmdebüt fort. Mit ihrer unaufdringlichen Erzählhaltung und einer einfühlsamen Kameraarbeit gelingt es ihnen, die zarten wechselseitigen Entwicklungen von körperlicher Berührung und menschlicher Begegnung ins Bild zu setzen.


Auszeichnungen für ›A Young Girl in Her Nineties‹
Special Jury Award & Documentary Audience Award – Festival International du Film Francophone de Namur, Belgium | Best International Documentary – Rome Independent Film Festival 2016 | FIPRESCI Prize 2016 | Best Documentary – Tournai Ramdam Festival, Belgium 2017

Regie

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Yann Coridian

Bildgestaltung

Hélène Louvart, Yann Coridian

Montage

Anne Weil

Ton

François Waledisch

Produktion

Marie Balducchi

Kontakt

AGAT Films et Cie

WWW

agatfilmsetcie.com

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi hat als Schauspielerin eine Vielzahl an Rollen in französischen und italienischen Kinofilmen interpretiert. 2003 realisierte sie ihr Regiedebüt mit dem in weiten Teilen autobiografischen Spielfilm Eher geht ein Kamel durchs Nadelöhr… Ihre folgenden Regiearbeiten Actrices – Oder der Traum aus der Nacht davor (2006) und Ein Schloss in Italien (2013) hatten beide ihre Premiere bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes.


Filme von Valeria Bruni Tedeschi
A Castle in Italy 2013 | Actresses 2007 | It’s Easier for a Camel… 2003

Yann Coridian

Yann Coridian ist Filmemacher, Romanautor und Castingdirektor. Er hat ein knappes Dutzend Romane beim Verlag »L’école des loisirs« veröffentlicht und 2013 seinen ersten Langfilm Ouf (Nuts) in die Kinos gebracht, der auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt wurde. Coridian schreibt regelmäßig fiktionale und feuilletonistische Beiträge für den Sender »France Culture« und arbeitet derzeit an der Adaption eines Jugendromans für eine Fernsehserie.


Filme von Yann Coridian
Ouf (Nuts) 2012 | Le baiser 2007