Mission Statement

Internationales Frauen* Film Fest Dortmund+Köln is Germany’s largest forum for women in the film industry and presents outstanding films by women spanning all genres and styles. For more than 30 years the festival has played an active role in ensuring that films by women directors are seen, appreciated and celebrated. We promote the influence of women in all fields of the cinema industry, mainly as directors, but also cinematographers, producers, scriptwriters, composers, songwriters and, actors to name but a few.

IFFF Dortmund+Köln was born out of the 2006 merging of the two women’s film festivals femme totale (Dortmund) and Feminale (Cologne). An overview of the important historical stations:

2021

2021 2nd Covid-compliant festival

Due to pandemic restrictions, this year’s festival is taking place online from 15 to 20 June. The new name and relaunch of Internationales Frauen* Film Fest Dortmund+Köln reflect how the two festival location profiles have been harmonised – now the sections desired! – filmlust & queer,  Panorama and also the Fokus as a thematic programme are running in both cities.
The new Spot on, NRW! programme will offer women film-makers from NRW a platform to showcase their work.

2020

2020 1st Covid-compliant festival

The pandemic forces the festival to downsize: events and screenings are held from 9 to 13 September in cinemas, but also online. The festival marks the first awarding of its Shoot – KHM&IFFF Dortmund+Köln Award for Emerging Female Artist of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne and the ECFA Short Film Award presented by the European Children’s Film Association.

2018

Under new management

Maxa Zoller becomes the festival’s artistic director.

2012-2017

New programmes

2014 The School Film Programme is now presented in both of the festival’s host cities. 2013 A selection programme is also to be presented in the festival city not hosting the main programme.

2012

Networking

2012 1st international network event Discussion on the Status of Women in Film Business and Gender Equity. This event takes place annually during the Berlinale. Representatives of women’s film festivals in Brussels, London, New York, Munich, Hamburg, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago de Chile and Assen in the Netherlands meet up with women film-makers at the festival in Cologne. In August, the International Women Film Festival Network is established.
The National Competition for Women Directors of Photography is to be held every two years in Cologne.

2009-2011

New Awards

2011 The Dortmund Documentary Film Award, worth €10,000, is presented as an honorary award for two years running in Dortmund. Recipients of the award are Helga Reidemeister and Heddy Honigmann (2013).
2009 The Audience Award, worth €1,000, is presented for the first time in Dortmund.

2007

Under new management

2007 Silke J. Räbiger becomes the festival’s artistic director, and Christina Essenberger is the new Festival Administrator.

2006

Amalgamation

Amalgamation of the Feminale and femme totale festivals, creating the new Internationales Frauen* Film Fest Dortmund+Köln. The profiles of the two previous festivals are largely retained for both cities until 2019. The femme totale and Feminale organisations initially remain in place.
Beate Preisler and Silke J. Räbiger take over as artistic directors.

2005

femme totale

In 2005 femme totale launches the Cinematography Workshop Discussion as a new format, with director of photography Sophie Maintigneux as the first guest. Since 2009, she has hosted the biennial event herself and invites fellow women cinematographers to Cologne to talk about their work.
2005 The festival introduces a development training programme for women film-makers. Up until 2014, experts address a range of subjects in the programme, including networking, financing, pitching, sound and copyright.
2005 femme totale presents the International Feature Film Competition for Women Directors. There is a huge disproportion in the number of women who win awards in the major international competitions worldwide. This award, with €25,000 for the winner, is brought in to start shifting the balance in this area. First winner: Keren Yedaya for Or – My Treasure

2003

Afghan women film-makers

femme totale publishes the first German Women Directors Guide. A digital version is published in 2006.
The Afghanistan Unveiled country programme brings films by Afghan women film-makers to the screen in Europe for the first time since the end of the Taliban government.

2001

Camera Award

For the first time, the femme totale Camera Award for Emerging Women Directors of Photography is presented, with prize money of €5,000. First winner: Jutta Pohlmann for England. At that time, the percentage of women behind the camera was still in the low single digits. This prompted the introduction of the 1st International Women Cinematographers’ Conference How to Improve the World.

1997-1999

First women’s film festival conference

1999 In connection with the Feminale film programme Girls, Gangs Guns, the book of the same name is published, edited by Carla Despineux and Verena Mund.
1998 The debut feature film competition Horizonte becomes a fixed item on the schedule at Feminale, worth almost 5,000 Deutschmarks to the winner.
1997 The first women’s film festival conference in Europe takes place in Dortmund.

1995/1996

Debut Feature Film Award

1996 femme totale and Feminale jointly publish the book 100 Jahre Frauen & Kino (100 Years of Women & Film).
1995 In its year between festivals, Feminale introduces its Debut Feature Film Award, with 5,000 Deutschmarks in prize money. First winners of the award are Susanne Ofteringer (Nico Icon) and Ngozi Onwurah (Welcome II the Terrordome)

1989-1991

School Film Programme & Soviet Union

1991 The new festival section School Film Programme for Children and Young Adults is launched at femme totale.
1989 With films by Soviet women film-makers as a thematic focus, femme totale presents the world’s first major exhibition of works by Soviet women directors after perestroika.

1987

1st FrauenFilmFestival femme totale

1987 The FrauenFilmFestival femme totale im Revier makes its debut between 29 April and 3 May in Dortmund with the theme Power and violence in films by women film-makers. The festival was held 10 times in Dortmund up until 2005.
Key members of the femme totale team over the years were Karin Bruns ✝, Petra Cornelissen, Gabriele Farr, Cornelia Foell, Stefanie Görtz, Anne Haage, Silke J. Räbiger (artistic director 1993-2018), Anne Schallenberg (Geschäftsführerin 1995 – 2007), Betty Schiel, Angelika Schumann, Claudia Schurian, Dora Scott, Isabelle Werner, Helga Wittenborg, Dorothea Zibner ✝ and many others.

1986

Beginning of femme totale

1986 femme totale is created by a feminist women’s project group from the Ruhr region: »We wanted to put into action what the ›FuF Frauen und Film‹ feminist film journal was writing about«. The festival modelled itself as a ‘cinema and convention’-style event, and took a cross-genre thematic and historical approach. The international film programme was accompanied by workshops, talks, exhibitions and concerts.

1984

1. FrauenFilmFest Feminale

1984 The inaugural Feminale women’s film festival took place from 27 to 29 April in Cologne. The festival was held 12 times up until 2004. Initially conceived as a showcase for films and videos made by women from the region, the programme broadened out to include European film-making in the years that followed, then transitioning into an international festival in 1988.

1983

Beginning of Feminale

1983 Feminale is created in Cologne by a group of female students of theatre, film and TV theory from the University of Cologne. As a grassroots democratic set-up, the festival saw itself as part of a ›counterculture‹.
Key members of the Feminale team down the years were Mechthild Buchholz, Carla Despineux, Anja Dreschke, Regina Eichen, Gaby Gehlen, Sonja Hofmann, Eva Hohenberger, Marion Kranen, Jennifer Jones, Karin Jurschick, Katja Mildenberger, Christine Moser, Verena Mund, Beate Preisler ✝, Nicole Rebmann, Irene Schoor and many more.

We are particularly – but far from exclusively – committed to the causes of emancipation, feminism, the queer movement and the issue of redistribution of power (diversity). Our curating expertise comes together in programmes that often anticipate important socio-political developments. The festival’s thematic focus is one example here. But the special programmes, performances, concerts, readings and workshop discussions also all set standards.  We honour films made by women through our awards, which carry generous prize-money. We support networking and film education, and conduct research on films by women. Beyond its international influence, IFFF Dortmund+Köln stands for diversity in the regional media sphere, and is a central pillar of NRW’s film culture. The festival is a key cultural highlight of the cities of Dortmund and Cologne.

Our philosophy

Equality in film means handing greater decision-making power and responsibility to women in all areas of the industry, from screenwriting to editing. It also means that films by women have just as much chance of making it onto the big screen as those by male directors. This is why IFFF Dortmund+Köln is officially pro women quota in all sectors of the film industry and at their senior management levels.

»If she can see it, she can be it!« is the rallying cry of the MaLisa Foundation. Films with complex, empowered female protagonists become role models for our audiences. Films that operate outside patriarchal structures, such as the classic heroic epic, open up alternative narrative models for everyone. The festival’s films break apart the formal mechanisms of cinema through innovative cinematography, montage and sound-image combinations that are either absent or very hard to find in mainstream film. The festival thus provides a vital thrust to the history, present and future of cinema.

In the long term and from a social perspective, IFFF Dortmund+Köln plays its part in lifting the lid on discrimination against women, in all its guises both subtle or gratuitous – and confronts this by presenting (visual) counter-worlds.

Target groups

Our immediate target group are women film-makers from all fields of the industry, as well as cultural workers, especially mediators and curators, who act as vital multipliers for us. Our festival primarily attracts an audience that is not working in the film industry but that is interested in intersectional feminism. This includes young film students, queer groups and international film networks. And a broad-ranging, film-loving and above all cross-generational audience from Germany and around the world also regularly make their way to the cinemas laid on for IFFF Dortmund+Köln.

As an urban festival, IFFF Dortmund+Köln attracts culture fans from the region. It’s a regular highlight in the cultural calendar of the festival’s two host cities. A special focus is our programme of films for children and young people. Here, we attract around 1,000 young film-goers thanks to our targeted involvement of schools and kindergartens

Profile

The main festival programme rotates annually between Dortmund and Cologne, with a compact programme always running in the other city.

Competitions

International Feature Film Competition (held biannually in Dortmund), International Debut Feature Film Competition for Women Directors (held biannually in Cologne), National Competition for Women Directors of Photography (biannually, in Cologne), Shoot – KHM & IFFF Dortmund+Köln Award for Emerging Female Artist of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne, ECFA Short Film Award, Audience Award.

Non-competitive programme series

The festival’s special theme section Focus, the experimental documentary and short film section Panorama, desired! – film lust & queer, the regional slot Spot on, NRW! and the archive section IFFF Revisited form the festival’s core programme. These are complemented by different Specials each year, such as one-off events, exhibitions, concerts and collaborations.

Year-specific programme (Monthly Programme)

IFFF Dortmund+Köln sees film as an expanded concept that doesn’t restrict the screening of films to classical cinema. The festival advocates showing films in all kinds of formats. And so, on top of the festival’s core programme, it has a film programme specific to each year, and features regular collaborations, holds talks and panel discussions, artistic projects and interventions in public spaces as well as book publications.

Relaunch

2021 sees the launch of the festival’s new digital format and its new name, logo and fully revamped website. In addition, the format of different programmes for Dortmund and Cologne has been scrapped, with a new harmonised programme brought in; so this year, the current releases from the Panorama and desired! – film lust & queer sections will be shown on Dortmund’s screens, while Cologne’s special country segment makes way for the theme-based Focus.

Atmosphere

The festival team is made up of curators, organisers and technicians. We have a family-friendly work policy that allows family and job to be compatible. Modern tools and digital work practices keep the team, which is spread across NRW, together. The work of IFFF Dortmund+Köln is dedicated to three fundamental goals: dialogue, diversity, empowerment.

Mission Statement

Das Internationale Frauen* Film Fest Dortmund+Köln ist Deutschlands größtes Forum für Frauen* in der Filmbranche und präsentiert herausragende Filme von Frauen* aller Genres und Stilrichtungen. Seit über 30 Jahren trägt das Festival aktiv dazu bei, dass Filme von Regisseur*innen mehr gesehen, geschätzt und kanonisiert werden. Wir stärken den Einfluss von Frauen* in allen Gewerken der Kinoindustrie: allen voran die Regisseur*innen, aber auch Bildgestalter*innen, Produzent*innen, Drehbuchautor*innen, Komponist*innen, Schauspieler*innen und viele mehr.

Das IFFF Dortmund+Köln ging 2006 aus der Fusion der beiden in den 1980er-Jahren gegründeten Frauenfilmfestivals femme totale (Dortmund) und Feminale (Köln) hervor. Wichtige Stationen im Überblick:

2021

2. Corona-Edition & Relaunch

Das Festival findet vom 15. bis 20. Juni pandemiebedingt online statt.
Der neue Name und der Relaunch Internationales Frauen* Film Fest Dortmund+Köln beinhalten die Angleichung der Profile beider Festivalstandorte – jetzt finden die Programme begehrt! – filmlust queer, Panorama sowie der Fokus als Themenschwerpunkt jährlich in beiden Städten statt. Das neue Programm Spot on, NRW! soll eine Bühne für Filmschaffende aus NRW bieten.

2020

1. Corona-Edition 2020

Aufgrund der Pandemie findet vom 9. bis 13. September eine verkleinerte Festivalausgabe in den Kinos und online statt. Das Festival vergibt erstmalig die Preise Shoot KHM&IFFF Dortmund+Köln Nachwuchspreis für Künstlerinnen der KHM und den ECFA Short Film Award der European Children’s Film Association.

2018

Unter neuer Leitung

Maxa Zoller übernimmt die künstlerische Leitung des Festivals.

2012-2018

Programmneuerung & Netzwerken

2014 Das Schulfilmprogramm findet künftig parallel in beiden Städten statt.
2013 Künftig wird ein Auswahlprogramm auch in der Festivalstadt präsentiert, die nicht das Hauptprogramm austrägt.
2012 1. Internationales Netzwerktreffen Discussion on the Status of Women in Film Business and Gender Equity.
Das Event findet jährlich während der Berlinale statt. Vertreterinnen von Frauenfilmfestivals in Brüssel, London, New York, München, Hamburg, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago de Chile und Assen treffen beim Festival in Köln mit Filmschaffenden zusammen. Im August wird das International Women Film Festival Network gegründet.
Der Nationale Wettbewerb für Bildgestalterinnen wird künftig biennal am Standort Köln vergeben.

2009-2011

Neue Preise

2011 Der Dortmunder Dokumentarfilmpreis – dotiert mit 10.000 Euro – wird zwei Jahre in Folge in Dortmund als Ehrenpreis vergeben. Preisträgerinnen sind Helga Reidemeister und Heddy Honigmann (2013).
2009 Der Publikumspreis – dotiert mit 1000 Euro – wird erstmalig auch in Dortmund vergeben.

2007

Unter neuer Leitung

Silke J. Räbiger übernimmt die künstlerische Leitung des Festivals, Christina Essenberger wird neue Geschäftsführerin.

2006

Fusion

Fusion von Feminale und femme totale zum Internationalen Frauenfilmfestival Dortmund|Köln. Die Profile der Vorgängerfestivals bleiben für die Städte bis 2019 weitestgehend erhalten. Die Vereine femme totale und Feminale bleiben zunächst bestehen.
Die Künstlerische Leitung übernehmen Beate Preisler und Silke J. Räbiger.

2005

Neue Programme

femme totale startet das Werkstattgespräch Bildgestaltung als neues Format mit der Kamerafrau Sophie Maintigneux als erstem Gast. Seit 2009 ist sie selbst Gastgeberin der Reihe und lädt biennal in Köln Kolleginnen zum Fachgespräch ein.
Während des Festivals wird erstmalig ein Weiterbildungsprogramm für Filmemacherinnen angeboten. Bis 2014 werden diverse Themen von Expertinnen bearbeitet, u.a. Vernetzung, Finanzierung, Pitching, Sound, Urheberrecht.
femme totale lobt den Internationalen Spielfilmwettbewerb für Regisseurinnen aus. Der Anteil von Frauen* als Preisträgerinnen der großen internationalen Wettbewerbe ist weltweit stark unterrepräsentiert. Mit zunächst 25.000 Euro dotiert, tritt der Preis an, Aufmerksamkeiten zu verschieben. 1. Preisträgerin: Keren Yedaya für Or – My Treasure

2003

Afghanische Filmemacherinnen / Regisseurinnen-Guide

femme totale gibt den ersten deutschen Regisseurinnen-Guide heraus. 2006 wird eine digitale Version veröffentlicht.
2003 Das Länderprogramm Afghanistan Unveiled bringt zum ersten Mal nach dem Ende der Taliban-Regierung Filme von afghanischen Filmemacherinnen in Europa auf die Leinwand.

2001

Bildgestalterinnen

Zum ersten Mal wird der femme totale Kamerapreis für Nachwuchs-Bildgestalterinnen vergeben, er ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert. 1. Preisträgerin: Jutta Pohlmann für England. Der Anteil von Frauen* hinter der Kamera lag zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch bei niedrigen einstelligen Prozentzahlen. Anlass für die 1. Internationale Tagung von Kamerafrauen How to Improve the World.

1996-1999

Weiterentwicklungen

1999 Im Anschluss an die Feminale-Filmreihe Girls, Gangs Guns erscheint die gleichnamige Publikation, herausgegeben von Carla Despineux und Verena Mund.
1998 Horizonte, der Wettbewerb für lange Debütspielfilme, wird bei der Feminale mit einem Preisgeld von 5.000 DM fest etabliert.
1997 Die erste Konferenz der Frauenfilmfestivals in Europa findet in Dortmund statt.
femme totale und Feminale geben gemeinsam die Publikation 100 Jahre Frauen & Kino heraus.

1995

1. Debütspielfilmpreis

In ihrem ›Zwischenjahr‹ vergibt die Feminale erstmalig den Debütspielfilmpreis – dotiert mit 5.000 DM. 1. Preisträgerinnen sind Susanne Ofteringer (Nico Icon) und Ngozi Onwurah (Welcome II the Terrordome)

1989-1991

Schulfilm & Sowjetunion

1991 Das Schulfilmprogramm für Kinder und Jugendliche startet als neue Festivalsektion bei femme totale.
1989 Mit dem Schwerpunktthema Filme sowjetischer Filmemacherinnen präsentiert femme totale weltweit die erste umfassende Werkschau sowjetischer Regisseurinnen nach der Perestroika.

1987

1. femme totale

Das FrauenFilmFestival femme totale im Revier findet zum ersten Mal vom 29. April bis 3. Mai in Dortmund statt mit dem Thema: Macht und Gewalt in Filmen von Frauen. Bis 2005 gab es in Dortmund 10 Ausgaben.
Im femme totale-Team waren im Laufe der Jahre Karin Bruns ✝, Petra Cornelissen, Gabriele Farr, Cornelia Foell, Stefanie Görtz, Anne Haage, Silke J. Räbiger (künstl. Leitung 1993 – 2018), Anne Schallenberg (Geschäftsführerin 1995 – 2007), Betty Schiel, Angelika Schumann, Claudia Schurian, Dora Scott, Isabelle Werner, Helga Wittenborg, Dorothea Zibner ✝ u.v.a. maßgeblich tätig.

1986

Gründung femme totale

1986 Gründung von femme totale von einer Projektgruppe feministischer Frauen aus dem Ruhrgebiet: »Wir wollten machen, was die ›FuF Frauen und Film‹ schreibt«. Das Festival folgte der Idee ›Kino und Kongress‹ und war genreübergreifend thematisch und historisch ausgerichtet. Das internationale Filmprogramm wurde durch Workshops, Vorträge, Ausstellungen und Konzerte kontextualisiert.

1984

1. Feminale

1984 Das erste FrauenFilmFest Feminale fand vom 27. bis 29. April in Köln statt. Bis 2004 gab es in Köln 12 Ausgaben. Zunächst als Werkschau von Filmen und Videos von Frauen aus der Region konzipiert, öffnete sich das Programm in den Folgejahren zunächst dem europäischen Filmschaffen und vollzog 1998 Schritt hin zum internationalen Festival.

1983

Gründung Feminale

1983 Gründung der Feminale in Köln von einer Gruppe von Filmstudentinnen der Theater-, Film- und Fernsehwissenschaften der Uni Köln. Basisdemokratisch organisiert, war sie in ihrem Selbstverständnis Teil einer ›Gegenkultur‹.
Im Feminale-Team waren im Laufe der Jahre Mechthild Buchholz, Carla Despineux, Anja Dreschke, Regina Eichen, Gaby Gehlen, Sonja Hofmann, Eva Hohenberger, Marion Kranen, Jennifer Jones, Karin Jurschick, Katja Mildenberger, Christine Moser, Verena Mund, Beate Preisler ✝, Nicole Rebmann, Irene Schoor u.v.a. maßgeblich tätig.

Ganz besonders aber nicht ausschließlich sind wir den Themen der Emanzipation, des Feminismus, der queeren Bewegung und dem Thema der Machtumverteilung (Diversität) verpflichtet. Unsere kuratorische Kompetenz verdichtet sich in Programmen, die oft wichtige gesellschaftspolitische Strömungen vorwegnehmen. Der thematische Fokus steht dafür exemplarisch. Aber auch die Sonderprogramme, Performances, Konzerte, Lesungen und Werkstattgespräche setzen Standards.

Wir zeichnen Filme von Frauen* mit gut dotierten Preise aus, setzen auf Vernetzung und Filmvermittlung und forschen zu Filmen von Frauen*. Über seinen internationalen Einfluss hinaus steht das IFFF Dortmund+Köln für Vielfalt in der regionalen Medienlandschaft und ist zentraler Bestandteil der Filmkultur NRW. Das Festival ist ein wichtiger Kulturhöhepunkt der Städte Dortmund und Köln.

Unsere Philosophie

Gleichberechtigung im Film heißt, dass Frauen* in allen Bereichen der Branche, vom Drehbuch bis zum Schnitt, mehr Entscheidungs- und Handlungsfähigkeit eingeräumt wird und Filme von Frauen* in gleichem Maße neben denen männlicher Regisseure auf großer Leinwand zu sehen sind. Deswegen ist das IFFF Dortmund+Köln pro Quote in allen Gewerken der Filmindustrie und deren Führungspositionen.

»If she can see it, she can be it!« – mit »Sichtbar ist machbar!« übersetzt die MaLisa Stiftung diesen Leitspruch. Filme mit komplexen, selbstbestimmten Protagonistinnen werden zu Vorbildern für unsere Zuschauer*innen. Filme, die nicht innerhalb patriarchalischer Muster wie zum Beispiel dem klassischen Heldenepos spielen, eröffnen alternative Erzählungsmodelle für alle. Das Aufbrechen der formalen Mechanismen des Kinos gelingt den Festivalfilmen durch innovative Bildgestaltung, Montage und Ton-Bild Kombinationen, die es so im Mainstreamfilm nicht oder kaum mehr gibt. Das Festival gibt damit einen wichtigen Impuls für die Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft des Kinos.

Langfristig und gesellschaftlich gesehen trägt das IFFF Dortmund+Köln dazu bei, dass die Diskriminierung der Frau* – wie offen oder subtil diese auch immer zum Vorschein kommt – entlarvt und ihr (bildliche) Gegenwelten entgegengesetzt werden.

Zielgruppen

Unsere direkte Zielgruppe sind Filmschaffende aus allen Gewerken, sowie Kulturarbeiter*innen, vor allem Vermittler*innen und Kurator*innen, die für uns wichtige Multiplikator*innen sind. Unser Festival zieht größtenteils ein Publikum an, das nicht in der Filmbranche tätig ist, sich aber für den intersektionalen Feminismus interessiert. Dies umfasst junge Filmstudierende, queere Gruppen und internationale Filmnetzwerke. Auch ein breites, cineastisches und vor allem generationsübergreifendes Publikum in Deutschland und weltweit findet regelmäßig seinen Weg in die Kinos des IFFF Dortmund+Köln.

Als urbanes Festival zieht das IFFF Dortmund+Köln Kulturinteressierte der Region an, denn es ist ein regelmäßiges Highlight im Kulturkalender der beiden Festivalstädte. Ein besonderer Vermittlungsschwerpunkt ist unser Programm für Kinder und Jugendliche, mit dem wir dank gezielter Einbindung der Schulen und Kitas rund 1.000 junge Zuschauer*innen erreichen.

Profil

Das Festivalprogramm wird im jährlichen Wechsel zwischen Dortmund und Köln gezeigt, wobei immer ein Auswahlprogramm in der jeweils anderen Stadt angeboten wird.

Wettbewerbe

Internationaler Spielfilmwettbewerb (biennal in Dortmund), Internationaler Debüt-Spielfilmwettbewerb für Regisseurinnen (biennal in Köln), Nationaler Wettbewerb für Bildgestalterinnen (biennal in Köln), Shoot – KHM & IFFF Dortmund+Köln Nachwuchspreis für Künstlerinnen der KHM, ECFA Kurzfilmpreis, Publikumspreis.

Nicht-kompetitive Programmreihen

Der thematische Schwerpunkt Fokus, das experimentelle Dokumentar- und Kurzfilmprogramm Panorama, begehrt! – filmlust queer, der regionale Slot Spot on, NRW! und das Archivprogramm IFFF packt aus sind die festen Programmreihen des Festivals. Sie werden ergänzt durch jährlich wechselnde Specials wie Sonderveranstaltungen, Ausstellungen, Konzerte und Kooperationen.

Jahresprogramm

Das IFFF Dortmund+Köln versteht Film als einen erweiterten Begriff, der die Vermittlung von Filmen nicht nur auf das klassische Kino begrenzt, sondern es in einer Vielfalt von Formaten zeigt. Diese umfassen neben dem Festivalprogramm ein Jahresfilmprogramm, regelmäßige Kooperationen, Talks und Panels, künstlerische Projekte und Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum sowie Buchpublikationen.

Relaunch

2021 stellt sich das Festival digital neu vor und präsentiert sich mit geändertem Namen, neuem Logo und komplett neuer Website. Gleichzeitig wurde der Unterschied der Programmierung in Dortmund und Köln aufgehoben und das Programm angeglichen; jetzt kommen auch die aktuellen Filme aus Panorama und begehrt! – filmlust queer auf die Dortmunder Leinwände, gleichzeitig weicht der Kölner Länderschwerpunkt dem thematischen Fokus.

Atmosphäre

Das Team besteht aus Kuratorinnen, Organisation und Technik. Wir arbeiten in einem familienfreundlichen Klima, das Vereinbarkeit möglich macht. Moderne Tools und digitale Arbeitsmethoden halten das in NRW verteilte Team zusammen. Das IFFF Dortmund+Köln verpflichtet sich mit seiner Arbeit drei Grundzielen: Dialog, Diversität, Empowerment.