SHOOT – KHM & IFFF Dortmund+Köln

SHOOT – KHM & IFFF Dortmund+Köln

The new Shoot – KHM & IFFF Dortmund+Köln Award for Female Artists of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne is aimed at female directors who graduated from the Academy of Media Arts Cologne in the year prior to the Festival. The aim and purpose of this new award is to identify emerging and up-and-coming artists, to introduce them to a broad audience and to provide financial support. The word shoot can mean to make a film, but it also refers to a young plant or offspring. It’s a widely known fact that transitioning from art or film school to the competitive professional world is often a very tough journey. This is why the new ›shoots‹ must be supported and integrated into networks, especially when transitioning from a university of the arts to the independent professional world and ›the market‹.

The prize is being awarded for the third time in 2022 and goes to Luka Lara Steffen.

We will be presenting a montage from three of her films (20’) showcasing her artistic work at KHM, which asks the topical questions: When does a civic initiative turn into anti-democracy, and at what point do conservative values become right-wing?

From the jury’s statement:

“She has an eye for the essential. Luka Lara Steffen takes a clear stance in her work – politically and artistically. She tackles her subjects systematically and is not afraid to confront very different perspectives with each other.”

Shoot is a joint gender equality collaboration between Equality / Discrimination of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne (KHM) and IFFF Dortmund+Köln, and comes with prize money of €1,000. The films are shown as part of the new section, Spot on, NRW!
The prize will be awarded by a jury consisting of three curators of IFFF Dortmund+Köln.


2022: Luka Lara Steffen

2021: Angelika Herta

2020: Anna Ansone