Monika Hauser – Ein Porträt

Monika Hauser – Ein Porträt

Edith Eisenstecken, Evi Oberkofler

DE
2016
Documentary
86’
Specials

»I have the privilege of having a European passport, I’ve had a good education, I am strong. I have to use these privileges to support other women who live on the dark side of life.«
Monika Hauser

In late 1992, Monika Hauser hears about mass rapes of Bosnian women during the Balkans war. It angers her, as does the repeated abuse of the victims by the media. She travels to the war zone to help, mobilizes supporters and applies for aid funds. In 1993, with the support of Bosnian psychologists and doctors, she opened the Medica Zenica women’s therapy centre in central Bosnia. Pioneering work that laid the foundation for the medica mondiale association, whose commitment was extended over the years, first to Kosovo, then to Afghanistan and many other countries. The association’s work takes forward the principles that Monika Hauser was already addressing in medical institutions during her medical training: demanding more sensitive treatment of patients and adopting a critical, feminist stance regarding the structural shortcomings in orthodox medicine and in crisis and development aid. How did Monika Hauser discover the issue that has accompanied her all her life? And what is it that drives her? The portrait by directors Evi Oberkofler and Edith Eisenstecken combines insights into the day-to- day life of the women’s rights activist, looking back at and reflecting on the stages along her journey to date.

Director / Script / Editing

Evi Oberkofler, Edith Eisenstecken

Camera

Carla Muresan, Sanne Kurz, Judith Benedikt, Thomas Bresinsky, Jochen Unterhofer, Ralph Netzer, Daniel Mazza

Sound

Peter Kautzsch, Fabian Runtenberg, Martin Fliri

Sound design

Sören Blüthgen

Music

Elena Kats-Chernin, Iva Bittová

Production

Marieke Schröder, Thali Medien GmbH

Contact

barnsteiner-film

Edith Eisenstecken

Edith Eisenstecken, born 1960 in Bolzano, South Tyrol in Italy, studied directing at the University of Television and Film Munich and qualified in film editing from the Bavaria Filmstudios. She has worked freelance for many years with her own radio show at the RAI station Bolzano and also teaching film montage. She lives by the Ammersee lake in Bavaria.

Alongside her own projects she has worked together with the director Evi Oberkofler.


Films by Edith Eisenstecken und Evi Oberkofler (Selection)
Der Kinomann aus Südtirol 2012 | Stenzel – Als Filme noch verrückt sein durften 2011 | Peter Mitterrutzner 2010 | Krista Posch 2009 | Luis Stefan Stecher 2007 | Sepp Mall 2006 | Joseph Zoderer 2005 | Margareth Obexer – Autorin 2004 | Helene Flöss – Eine Begegnung 2003 | Anita Pichler – Ich will einfach erzählen 2002

Evi Oberkofler

Evi Oberkofler, born in 1972, studied documentary film-making at the University of Film and Television/HFF Munich, lived in London and New York while studying, and after graduating started working on a freelance basis. Since then, she has lived and worked in Munich as a writer and film director.

Alongside her own projects she has worked together with the director Edith Eisenstecken.


Films by Evi Oberkofler und Edith Eisenstecken (Selection)
Der Kinomann aus Südtirol 2012 | Stenzel – Als Filme noch verrückt sein durften 2011 | Peter Mitterrutzner 2010 | Krista Posch 2009 | Luis Stefan Stecher 2007 | Sepp Mall 2006 | Joseph Zoderer 2005 | Margareth Obexer – Autorin 2004 | Helene Flöss – Eine Begegnung 2003 | Anita Pichler – Ich will einfach erzählen 2002

Monika Hauser – Ein Porträt

Monika Hauser – Ein Porträt

Evi Oberkofler, Edith Eisenstecken

DE
2016
Dokumentarfilm
86’
Specials

»Ich habe das Privileg eines europäischen Passes, ich habe eine gute Ausbildung genießen können, ich bin stark. Ich muss diese Privilegien nutzen, um andere Frauen, die auf der Schattenseite leben, zu unterstützen.« Monika Hauser

Ende 1992 erfährt Monika Hauser von Massenvergewaltigungen an bosnischen Frauen während des Balkan-Krieges und ist wütend – auch über den neuerlichen Missbrauch der Opfer durch die Medien. Sie fährt ins Kriegsgebiet um zu helfen, mobilisiert Unterstützer*innen und beantragt Hilfsgelder. 1993 eröffnet sie, unterstützt von bosnischen Psychologinnen und Ärztinnen, das Frauentherapiezentrum Medica Zenica in Zentral-Bosnien. Pionierarbeit, die den Grundstein für den Verein medica mondiale legt, dessen Engagement im Laufe der Jahre zunächst auf den Kosovo, dann auf Afghanistan und auf zahlreiche weitere Länder ausgedehnt wurde. In der Arbeit des Vereins setzen sich die Prinzipien fort, mit denen Monika Hauser bereits während ihrer medizinischen Ausbildung in den Institutionen angeeckt war: die Forderung nach einer sensibleren Behandlung von Patientinnen und eine feministische Kritik an strukturellen Missständen in der Schulmedizin und der Krisen- und Entwicklungshilfe. Wie fand Monika Hauser zu dem Thema, das sie ein Leben lang begleitet? Und was treibt sie an? Das Porträt der Regisseurinnen Evi Oberkofler und Edith Eisenstecken verbindet Einblicke in den Alltag der Frauenrechtlerin mit Rückblicken und Reflexionen auf die bisherigen Etappen ihres Weges.

Regie / Buch / Montage

Evi Oberkofler, Edith Eisenstecken

Kamera

Carla Muresan, Sanne Kurz, Judith Benedikt, Thomas Bresinsky, Jochen Unterhofer, Ralph Netzer, Daniel Mazza

Ton

Peter Kautzsch, Fabian Runtenberg, Martin Fliri

Sounddesign

Sören Blüthgen

Musik

Elena Kats-Chernin, Iva Bittová

Produktion

Marieke Schröder, Thali Medien GmbH

Kontakt

barnsteiner-film

Evi Oberkofler

Evi Oberkofler, Jahrgang 1972, studierte an der Filmhochschule in München, Abteilung Dokumentarfilm, lebte zu Studienzwecken zeitweise in London und New York und machte sich nach dem Hochschulabschluss selbstständig. Seitdem lebt sie als Autorin und Regisseurin in München.

Seit vielen Jahren arbeitet die Regisseurin neben eigenen Projekten zusammen mit Edith Eisenstecken.


Filme von Evi Oberkofler und Edith Eisenstecken (Auswahl)
Der Kinomann aus Südtirol 2012 | Stenzel – Als Filme noch verrückt sein durften 2011 | Peter Mitterrutzner 2010 | Krista Posch 2009 | Luis Stefan Stecher 2007 | Sepp Mall 2006 | Joseph Zoderer 2005 | Margareth Obexer – Autorin 2004 | Helene Flöss – Eine Begegnung 2003 | Anita Pichler – Ich will einfach erzählen 2002

Edith Eisenstecken

Edith Eisenstecken, Jahrgang 1960 in Bozen/Südtirol/Italien geboren, studierte Regie an der Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film in München und absolvierte eine Filmschnitt-Ausbildung in den Bavaria-Filmstudios. Langjährige Freie Mitarbeiterin mit eigener Radiosendung beim RAI- Sender Bozen und Lehrtätigkeiten im Bereich der Film-Montage. Sie lebt am Ammersee.

Seit vielen Jahren arbeitet die Regisseurin neben eigenen Projekten zusammen mit Evi Oberkofler.


Filme von Edith Eisenstecken und Evi Oberkofler (Auswahl)
Der Kinomann aus Südtirol 2012 | Stenzel – Als Filme noch verrückt sein durften 2011 | Peter Mitterrutzner 2010 | Krista Posch 2009 | Luis Stefan Stecher 2007 | Sepp Mall 2006 | Joseph Zoderer 2005 | Margareth Obexer – Autorin 2004 | Helene Flöss – Eine Begegnung 2003 | Anita Pichler – Ich will einfach erzählen 2002