Lover in Improvement (Edited Version)

Lover in Improvement (Edited Version)

Anna-Lena Meisenberg (Artist)

2017
Performance
Performances & Specials

In her performances, Anna-Lena Meisenberg adopts the role of her alter-ego Nikki Sharp. She deals with dominant role models and identity structures via songs in different musical styles and varying interpretations. Also in Lover in Improvement (Edited Version), the image of a subject forms a base which constantly mutates via further projections and role switching until it finally becomes impossible to clearly distinguish between the resulting identities.
The performance can be described as a type of positive loss of control by the subject, when images disintegrate into illusions, and familiar structures and values shift. Somewhere between this loss of control and its restoration lies the possibility of defining identity differently and developing new guiding principles.

With

Anna-Lena Meisenberg

Anna-Lena Meisenberg (Artist)

Performance artist Anna-Lena Meisenberg was born in 1989 in Berlin, and since 2010 has studied at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (Marcel Odenbach class). In the guise of fictitious character Nikki Sharp, Meisenberg’s music performances raise questions about identity, gender roles, culture, and consumption. An unpredictable imperative cruises, you may rely on it, Nikki Sharp makes your soul feel good forever and ever, KITHEAVYSHARPMORUM, and more performances were held in 2016, in Düsseldorf’s art locations such as the »Weltkunstzimmer«, the »Salon des Amateurs«, the small, artist-run venue »Good Forever« and the »Container«. In 2015, Nikki Sharp’s work was shown at the »time_ based_academy« platform at Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, as well as in the »mental space« gallery in Bochum.

Lover in Improvement (Edited Version)

Lover in Improvement (Edited Version)

Anna-Lena Meisenberg (Artist)

2017
Performance
Performances & Specials

In ihren Performances nimmt Anna-Lena Meisenberg die Rolle ihrer Alter-Ego-Projektion Nikki Sharp an. Durch Songs in unterschiedlichen Musikstilen und variierenden Interpretationen arbeitet sie sich an vorherrschenden Rollenbildern und Identitätsstrukturen ab.
Auch in Lover in Improvement (Edited Version) ist zunächst das Abbild eines Subjekts Ausgangspunkt, welches durch weitere Projektionen und Rollenwechsel immer weiter mutiert, bis schließlich keine klare Trennung mehr zwischen den entstandenen Identitäten möglich ist.
Die Performance lässt sich als eine Art positiver Kontrollverlust des Subjekts beschreiben, wenn Abbilder in Trugbilder zerfallen und bekannte Strukturen und Werte sich verschieben. Zwischen diesem Kontrollverlust und der Wiederherstellung von Kontrolle liegt die Möglichkeit, Identität anders zu definieren und daraus neue Handlungsmaximen zu entwickeln.

Anna-Lena Meisenberg (Artist)

Die Performancekünstlerin Anna-Lena Meisenberg wurde 1989 in Berlin geboren und studiert seit 2010 an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf (Klasse Marcel Odenbach). In Gestalt der fiktiven Kunstfigur Nikki Sharp wirft sie in ihren Musikperformances Fragen nach Identität, Geschlechterrollen, Kultur und Konsum auf. An unpredictable imperative cruises, you may rely on it, Nikki Sharp makes your soul feel good forever and ever, KITHEAVYSHARPMORUM und weitere Performances fanden 2016 u. a. in Düsseldorfer Kunsträumen wie dem »Weltkunstzimmer«, dem »Salon des Amateurs«, dem Off-Raum für Performance »Good Forever« und dem »Container« statt. Außerdem war Nikki Sharp bereits 2015 im Rahmen der »time_based_academy« der Kunsthalle Düsseldorf sowie in der Galerie »mental space« in Bochum zu sehen.