The Plague

La plaga

The Plague

Neus Ballús

»Because of this feeling of loneliness and uncertainty, I’ve always thought of La plaga as a contemporary western. Also because we’re talking about the life on the margins of the system, in a strange landscape, in the heat of the summer … And that’s something that I always had in mind in creating the aesthetic atmosphere of the film.«
Neus Ballús

Raul, a farmer who wants to grow organic food, hires Iurie to help him in the fields. Iuri is a Moldavian wrestling fighter, who earns a living in whatever comes his way. Slowly, their personal stories intertwine with those of three solitary women: Maria, an elderly lady forced to leave her countryside house for a retirement home; Rose, a Philippine nurse who has just arrived in the country; and Maribel, a prostitute who has fewer and fewer clients. The destinies of all these characters become entwined as the summer goes on. La plaga is a film of interwoven stories that offers a portrait of life on the outskirts of Barcelona. The main characters are not actors. They play themselves after four years of working with the director. This long process has permitted Ballús to reveal the uncertainty and rebel spirit that underlies contemporary crisis-hit Spain.

 

Director

Neus Ballús

Script

Neus Ballús, Pau Subirós

Cinematography

Diego Dussuel

Editing

Neus Ballús, Domi Parra

Sound

Pau Subirós

Cast

Maria Ros, Raül Molist, Rosemarie Abella, Iurie Timbur, Marinel Martí

Production

El Kinògraf SL

Neus Ballús

Neus Ballús, born 1980 in Barcelona, graduated from the Pompeu Fabra University in Barcelona with a degree in editing and directing. Her first two documentary portraits La Gabi and Grandad with the Movie Camera were internationally acclaimed. Immersion, which won the Alcine Best Movie Award, one of the most prestigious Spanish short film prizes, was filmed completely underwater in a public swimming pool. Ms Ballús works as director and as editor.


Films by Neus Ballús
Immersion 2009 | Pepitu Ricu 2006 | The Grandad with a Movie Camera 2005 | La Gabi 2004

La plaga

La plaga

Neus Ballús

»Aufgrund dieses Gefühls von Einsamkeit und Unsicherheit habe ich La plaga immer als einen zeitgenössischen Western gesehen. Auch, weil wir über das Leben am Rande des Systems reden, in einer befremdenden Landschaft in der Gluthitze des Sommers. … Das hatte ich bei der ästhetischen Gestaltung des Films immer im Sinn.«
Neus Ballús

Raul will seinen Hof in der Nähe von Barcelona auf biologische Landwirtschaft umstellen und hat Iuri als Feldarbeiter eingestellt. In seiner Heimat Moldawien war Iuri ein Wrestler, jetzt verdient er sein Geld mit allem, was sich ergibt. Langsam und vorsichtig freunden sich die beiden Männer miteinander an. Auch Maria, Rose und Maribel haben ihre Geschichte. Maria ist eine ältere Dame, die ihr Landhaus verlassen muss, um in ein Altersheim zu ziehen. Rose ist gerade erst aus den Philippinen in Barcelona angekommen und Maribel hat als Prostituierte immer weniger Kundschaft. Je weiter der Sommer voranschreitet, umso enger verschränkt sich das Schicksal dieser Fünf miteinander. La plaga ist ein Porträt über das Leben am Rande von Barcelona. Alle Hauptdarsteller*innen sind keine Schauspieler, sondern spielen sich selbst, nachdem sie vier Jahre lang mit Regisseurin Neus Ballús zusammengearbeitet haben. Es gelingt Ballús, sowohl die Unsicherheit als auch den Widerstandsgeist offenzulegen, die das aktuelle krisengeschüttelte Spanien kennzeichnen.

 

Regie

Neus Ballús

Buch

Neus Ballús, Pau Subirós

Bildgestaltung

Diego Dussuel

Montage

Neus Ballús, Domi Parra

Ton

Pau Subirós

Darsteller*innen

Maria Ros, Raül Molist, Rosemarie Abella, Iurie Timbur, Marinel Martí

Produktion

El Kinògraf SL

Neus Ballús

Neus Ballús, 1980 in Barcelona geboren, graduierte an der Pompeu Fabra Universidad in Barcelona in den Fächern Schnitt und Regie. Ihre ersten beiden dokumentarischen Porträts La Gabi und The Grandad with the Movie Camera waren international erfolgreich. Immersion, der mit dem ALCINE Best Movie Award einen der renommiertesten spanischen Kurzfilmpreise gewann, entstand komplett unter Wasser in einem öffentlichen Schwimmbad. Neus Ballús arbeitet sowohl als Regisseurin als auch als Cutterin.


Filme von Neus Ballús
Immersion 2009 | Pepitu Ricu 2006 | The Grandad with a Movie Camera 2005 | La Gabi 2004