After the War

Dopo la guerra

After the War

Annarita Zambrano

IT / FR
2017
Feature Film
92’
International Debut Feature Film Competition

In 2002, France ended the Mitterand doctrine which protected Italian far-left terrorists who had fled to France from extradition. In the same year, the lawyer Marco Biagi was assassinated by the so-called New Red Brigades. In After the War, Annarita Zambrano weaves a fictional tale inspired by the two events around Marco, a former left-wing terrorist living in exile in France. While the changing political situation forces him to plan his escape to South America and abruptly end his teenage daughter’s »normal« everyday life, in a parallel narrative strand, the relatives who are left behind in Italy are also confronted with the violent past.
»We thought about making a film that would serve as a revisitation of this specific era and of the Mitterrand doctrine. A guilty party is a guilty party, but our country has never wanted to resolve the issue, and these people haven’t ever truly faced their responsibilities. The film is not intended as a judgement; it’s more of a commentary on guilt, humanity and politics. […] e guilt that falls onto those left behind is evident not just in classical culture – Antigone, for example – but also in Catholic culture, and it affects a lot of Italians, myself included.«
Annarita Zambrano

Director

Annarita Zambrano

Script

Annarita Zambrano, Delphine Agut

Cinematography

Laurent Brunet

Editing

Muriel Breton

Sound

Ivan Dumas, Frédéric Heinrich

Music

Grégoire Hetzel

Cast

Giuseppe Battiston, Barbora Bubolova, Charlotte Cétaire, Fabrizio Ferracane, Elisabetta Piccolomini

Production

Tom Dercourt, Stéphanie Douet, Mario Mazzarotto, Sensito Films, Cinéma Defacto, Movimento Film

Contact

Pyramide International

Annarita Zambrano

Annarita Zambrano was born in Rome and now lives in Paris. She has directed several short films which were selected for screening at major international festivals: Ophélia and Tre Ore at the Cannes Film Festival, A la lune montante at the Venice Film Festival and Andante Mezzo Forte at the Berlinale. In 2013, she directed The Black Soul of the Leopard, a documentary on the political dimension of Visconti’s masterpiece. Her feature debut After the War was presented in the section Un Certain Regard in Cannes in 2017.

Dopo la guerra

Dopo la guerra

Annarita Zambrano

IT / FR
2017
Spielfilm
92’
Internationaler Debüt-Spielfilmwettbewerb

2002 beendete Frankreich die Mitterand-Doktrin, die nach Frankreich geflohene italienische Linksterroristen vor der Auslieferung schützte. Im selben Jahr wurde der Jurist Marco Biagi von den sogenannten Neuen Brigaden ermordet. Inspiriert von beiden Ereignissen strickt Annarita Zambrano in Dopo la guerra eine fiktionale Handlung um Marco, einen ehemaligen Linksterroristen im französischen Exil. Während die veränderte politische Lage ihn zwingt, die Flucht nach Südamerika in die Wege zu leiten und damit dem »normalen« Teenageralltag seiner Tochter ein abruptes Ende zu bereiten, werden in einem parallelen Erzählstrang auch die in Italien zurückgebliebenen Verwandten von der gewaltvollen Vergangenheit eingeholt.

»Wir hatten einen Film im Sinn, der sich für eine Revision dieser bestimmten Ära und der Mitterand-Doktrin eignet. Wer schuldig ist, ist schuldig, aber unser Land hat dieses Thema nie aufarbeiten wollen, die Menschen sind nie zur Verantwortung gezogen worden. Der Film möchte kein Urteil fällen, sondern eher einen Kommentar abgeben über Schuld, Menschlichkeit und Politik. […] Die Schuld, die auf diejenigen fällt, die zurückbleiben, ist nicht nur in der klassischen Kultur ein präsentes Motiv – beispielsweise bei Antigone – sondern auch im Katholizismus. Sehr viele Italiener*innen sind davon betroffen, auch ich selbst.«
Annarita Zambrano

Regie

Annarita Zambrano

Buch

Annarita Zambrano, Delphine Agut

Bildgestaltung

Laurent Brunet

Montage

Muriel Breton

Ton

Ivan Dumas, Frédéric Heinrich

Musik

Grégoire Hetzel

Darsteller*innen

Giuseppe Battiston, Barbora Bubolova, Charlotte Cétaire, Fabrizio Ferracane, Elisabetta Piccolomini

Produktion

Tom Dercourt, Stéphanie Douet, Mario Mazzarotto, Sensito Films, Cinéma Defacto, Movimento Film

Kontakt

Pyramide International

Annarita Zambrano

Annarita Zambrano wurde in Rom geboren und lebt in Paris. Als Regisseurin hat sie mehrere Kurzfilme realisiert, die von den großen internationalen Festivals ausgewählt wurden: Ophélia und Tre Ore bei den Filmfestspielen von Cannes, A la lune montante in Venedig und Andante Mezzo Forte bei der Berlinale. 2013 führte sie Regie für The Black Soul of the Leopard, einen Dokumentarfilm zur politischen Dimension von Viscontis Meisterwerk. Ihr Spielfilmdebüt Dopo la guerra lief 2017 in der Sektion Un Certain Regard in Cannes.