Under the Starry Sky

Des étoiles

Under the Starry Sky

Dyana Gaye

FR / SN
2014
Feature Film
88’
International Debut Feature Film Competition

»It’s not my intention to try and establish an African or Senegalese identity but more to understand a movement – in this case, the movement of travel and its progress. Everything’s a bit like I am myself actually: I cannot decide whether I am Senegalese or French. … Although the Senegalese diaspora is scattered around the world, it is well organised, with a very strong sense of belonging to its homeland. For the youth of the African continent, North America is the measure of all things and the land of their dreams. France and Europe are but stages on the way there. The opposite pole, as represented by Thierno, was to my mind indispensable: he takes the opposite route, while the Afro-American culture – from rap to blaxploitation – has long since made inroads into Senegalese culture.«
Dyana Gaye

The paths of Sophie, Abdoulaye and Thierno are fated to cross between Turin, Dakar and New York. The 24 -year-old Sophie leaves Dakar to live with her husband Abdoulaye in Turin. Abdoulaye, meanwhile, has landed in New York, using a people smugglers network. For his part, the 19-year-old Thierno is travelling for the first time in his life from New York to Africa. In Under the Starry Sky, director Dyana Gaye follows her protagonists through the various cities and draws a highly topical picture of the situation for emigrants with all their hardships, hopes and dreams.


Awards for ›Des étoiles‹
Grand Prix du jury et Prix du Public du long métrage Français Festival Premiers Plans d’Angers
2014

Director

Dyana Gaye

Script

Cécile Vargaftig, Dyana Gaye

Cinematography

Irina Lubtchansky

Editing

Gwen Mallauran

Sound

Dimitri Haulet

Music

Baptiste Bouquin, Dente, Melody Gardot

Cast

Ralph Amoussou, Marème Demba Ly, Souleymane, Seye N’ Diaye, Maya Sansa und andere

Production

Andol/Centrale Electrique in Koproduktion mit Rouge International, Ezwkiel Film Production und Cinekap

Contact

EZEF

WWW

ezef.de

Dyana Gaye

Dyana Gaye was born 1975 in Paris and studied at the university there. In 1999, she received the Louis Lumière-Villa Médici scholarship. Her film Deweneti in 2007 won the Jury Prize at the Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival. It was one of five films that were nominated for the César in the category of short film. Her musical comedy Un transport en commun was nominated for the 2008 César. In 2013, Ms Gaye received the Katrin Cartlidge Foundation Award at the Sarajevo Film Festival.


Films by Dyana Gaye
Un transport en commun 2010 | Deweneti 2006 | J’ai deux amours 2004 | Une femme pour Souleymane 2000

Des étoiles

Des étoiles

Dyana Gaye

FR / SN
2014
Spielfilm
88’
Internationaler Debüt-Spielfilmwettbewerb

»Es geht mir nicht darum, eine afrikanische oder senegalesische Identität bestimmen zu wollen, sondern mehr, eine Bewegung nachzuvollziehen, in diesem Fall die Bewegung der Reise und deren Verlauf. Alles ist ein bisschen so wie ich selbst bin: Ich kann mich nicht entscheiden, ob ich Senegalesin bin oder Französin. … Die Diaspora des Senegal ist weltweit verstreut, sie ist gut organisiert, mit einem sehr starken Gefühl der Zugehörigkeit ihrem Heimatland gegenüber. Nordamerika ist für die Jugend des afrikanischen Kontinents das Maß aller Dinge und das Land ihrer Träume. Frankreich und Europa markieren auf dem Weg dahin nur eine Etappe. Der Gegenpol, repräsentiert durch Thierno, war in meinen Augen unverzichtbar; er schlägt den umgekehrten Weg ein, während die afroamerikanische Kultur – vom Rap bis zur Blaxploitation – längst Einzug in die senegalesische Kultur gehalten hat.«
Dyana Gaye

Zwischen Turin, Dakar und New York kreuzen sich die Wege von Sophie, Abdoulaye und Thierno. Die 24-jährige Sophie verlässt Dakar, um mit ihrem Mann Abdoulaye in Turin zu leben. Doch Abdoulaye ist unterdessen mithilfe von Schleusern in New York gelandet. Der 19-jährige Thierno wiederum reist zum ersten Mal in seinem Leben von New York nach Afrika. In Des étoiles folgt Regisseurin Dyana Gaye ihren Protagonist*innen in die verschiedenen Städte und entwirft ein aktuelles Bild der Situation von Emigranten mit all ihren Härten, Hoffnungen und Träumen.


Auszeichnungen für ›Des étoiles‹
Grand Prix du jury et Prix du Public du long métrage Français Festival Premiers Plans d’Angers
2014

Regie

Dyana Gaye

Buch

Cécile Vargaftig, Dyana Gaye

Bildgestaltung

Irina Lubtchansky

Montage

Gwen Mallauran

Ton

Dimitri Haulet

Musik

Baptiste Bouquin, Dente, Melody Gardot

Darsteller*innen

Ralph Amoussou, Marème Demba Ly, Souleymane, Seye N’ Diaye, Maya Sansa und andere

Produktion

Andol/Centrale Electrique in Koproduktion mit Rouge International, Ezwkiel Film Production und Cinekap

Kontakt

EZEF

WWW

ezef.de

Dyana Gaye

Dyana Gaye wurde 1975 in Paris geboren und studierte an der dortigen Universität. 1999 erhielt sie das Louis-Lumière-Villa Medici Stipendium. Ihr Film Deweneti erhielt 2007 unter anderem den Preis der Jury auf dem Kurzfilmfestival in Clermont-Ferrand und war einer von fünf Filmen, die für den César im Bereich Kurzfilm nominiert waren. Auch ihre Musikkomödie Un transport en commun wurde 2008 für den César im Bereich Kurzfilm nominiert. 2013 erhielt Dyana Gaye beim Sarajevo Film Festival den Preis der Stiftung Katrin Cartlidge.


Filme von Dyana Gaye
Un transport en commun 2010 | Deweneti 2006 | J’ai deux amours 2004 | Une femme pour Souleymane 2000