International Debut Feature Film Competition

In this section women film-makers compete with their debuts for the prize of Best International Debut Feature Fiction Film, which comes endowed with € 10,000.

Through the debut award as conferred in Cologne, Internationales Frauen* Film Fest Dortmund+Köln aims initially to honour the work of upcoming film direction talent. Yet the award is also intended to provide women film-makers already successful in the field of short films and documentaries with the opportunity of pursuing further projects after the completion of their first feature film.

In this way, in alternation with the International Feature Film Competition for Women Directors presented in Dortmund, it is hoped to create a continuing framework for festival and promotion activities.

A jury made up of three international film specialists confers the Debut Feature Fiction Film Award.


2020: Maya Da-Rin A Febre (BR/DE/FR)
2018: Carla Simón Estiu (ES)
2016: Ana Cristina Barragán Alba (EC)
2014: Neus Ballús La Plaga (ES)
2012: Belma Baş Zefir (TR)
2010: Susanna Nichhiarelli Cosmonauta (IT)
2008: Aurélia Georges L’Homme Qui Marche (FR)
2006: Claudia Llosa Madeinusa (PE)